Super Nouveauté / New cool resource
REL fait grâce à la collaboration étudiante - professeur de la Faculté de Médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa // OER produced through student-professor collaboration at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa
El-Hage, J. & Alarcón, E. I. (2025). How to Read a Scientific Paper in Biomedical Sciences. University of Ottawa. CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 http://hdl.handle.net/10393/50115
As the goal of this is to equip students with valuable tools to effectively convey scientific concepts to non-experts and the public, an integral part of the course is that students need to face the challenges of critically analyzing multiple scientific papers.
In this book, we offer four interactive tools to guide and simplify the reading and comprehension of scientific literature. A dedicated repository web page hosts these tools, along with two separate files showcasing real examples of students who used the summary report sheet to build their summaries of two different papers. These examples are compared with summaries generated by ChatGPT using the same sheets.
All documents are available as interactive PDFs and Word files, organized in the order they appear in the book. For the best experience, we recommend opening the PDF versions with a PDF reader such as Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader.
Version en français:
El-Hage, Jinane; Alarcón, Emilio I. (2025) Comment lire un article scientifique en sciences biomédicales
Naviguer dans la littérature scientifique est difficile, en particulier pour les étudiants qui ne sont pas familiers avec les termes techniques, le jargon et le contenu dense. Beaucoup ont du mal à distiller les messages essentiels ou à relier les résultats à des discussions scientifiques plus larges. Au-delà de la complexité inhérente des articles eux-mêmes, le domaine scientifique ne prend souvent pas en compte d'autres défis importants affectant la compréhension.
Dans ce livre, nous proposons quatre outils interactifs pour guider et simplifier la lecture et la compréhension de la littérature scientifique. Une page web dédiée héberge ces outils, ainsi que deux fichiers séparés présentant des exemples réels d'étudiants ayant utilisé la feuille de rapport de résumé pour construire leurs résumés de deux articles différents. Ces exemples sont comparés aux résumés générés par ChatGPT en utilisant les mêmes feuilles.
Tous les documents sont disponibles sous forme de PDF interactifs et de fichiers Word, organisés dans l'ordre où ils apparaissent dans le livre. Pour une meilleure expérience, nous recommandons d'ouvrir les versions PDF avec un lecteur PDF tel qu'Adobe Acrobat ou Adobe Reader.
Key Databases
- EmbaseThe Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
- MedlineOvid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
- ScienceDirect Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect donne accès à plus de 11 millions d'articles de revues en texte intégral et à des chapitres de livres provenant de la littérature scientifique fondamentale. ScienceDirect donne aussi accès aux revues médicales françaises d'Elsevier Masson. Il est possible de chercher avec des termes en français.
- AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine Database Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUsagers simultanés limités. AMED est une base de données bibliographique produit par le "Health Care Information Service of the British Library". Elle offre une sélection de périodiques en médecine complémentaire, les soins palliatifs, et plusieurs professions paramédicales.
- APA PsycInfo (OVID) Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowRépertorie les articles de revues, les livres, les chapitres de livres, les thèses et les rapports officiels en psychologie et dans les disciplines connexes. Le matériel indexé provient du monde entier.
- Stahl's essential psychopharmacologyAn online resource based on Dr. Stephen M. Stahl's (University of California San Diego, School of Medicine) books: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology (Stahl Online) and The Prescriber's Guide with added content and functionality.
- PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
- Global Health (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMaximum simultaneous users: 4. Produced by CABI, this database was created to ensure that key literature from all sources can be brought to the attention of those working in public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields.
E-Journals
This is not an exhaustive list, click here to view a complete list of our Pharmacy and Pharmacology e-journals.
Citation Management
These documents give you step-by-step instructions to the main functions of various citation managers, such as:
- Creating an account
- Creating folders
- Exporting references
- Removing duplicates
- Creating a bibliography
- EndNoteEndNote is available on the computers in the computer lab of the Health Sciences Library (1020R)
- EndNote BasicFree - This basic version of EndNote is available through the database Web of Science.
- MendeleyFree
- ZoteroFree - Zotero is installed on all the computers in the library.