Where to Search for Case Studies
Case studies can be found in various places, including business magazines, such as the Harvard Business Review, journals, books, and websites. To find a case study, see the tips below.
Search for cases in databases
- Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis digital resource is global in focus and presents real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion, tackling important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
- Sage Business Cases » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe SAGE Business Cases collection is designed to engage students in applying core concepts to practice through the use of real-life examples from the global business environment.
Note: Instructors may contact dmslib@uottawa.ca for access to teaching notes. - ProQuest One Business » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search option and limit document type to “case study”.
- Business Source Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search option and limit the "Publication Type" to “Case Study”.
Note: Business Source Complete lists many Harvard Business School Cases, but does not necessarily provide access to the full-text cases. Harvard cases must be purchased directly from Harvard Business Publishing. To retrieve only full-text cases in Business Source Complete, select "Full Text" under the "Search Options" menu.
- Henry Stewart Talks » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowHS Talks Business & Management - Collection of video cases.
- Financial Times Business School CasesFirst register for an account with FT.com using your uOttawa e-mail address.
Search for cases in books and e-books in the library catalogue
Use the library catalogue to do a keyword search with both your topic and the term "case studies". For example:
- international business AND case studies
Use the library catalogue to find books from the Ivey School of Business that contain cases.
Search for free cases
You may want to check to make sure the case is thorough, authoritative, well-written, etc.
- Acadia Institute of Cases
- Business Case Studies
- Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
- CPA Canada - Free business case studies
- The Case Centre (registration required for free cases)
- Indigenous Businesses in the BC Interior: Case Studies in Marketing
- Ivey Business School
- MaRS
- MERLOT
- MIT Sloan LearningEdge
- Stanford Graduate School of Business (under "Narrow Your Results," users can limit cases by academic area as well as to cases available to download at no charge)
- University of New Mexico Anderson School of Business - Ethics and Education
- World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Purchase cases from commercial publishers
These sites allow you to browse or search the abstracts of educational case studies. Note that these are specifically written for teaching purposes and present case facts with teaching notes, discussion questions, and other possible resources to facilitate learning.
- Ivey Publishing
- HEC Montreal Centre for Case Studies - cases available in English and French
- Harvard Business Publishing Harvard also partners with business schools and universities, such as Ivey, Kellogg, Stanford, Thunderbird and more, to streamline searching and distribution of their cases.
- The Case Centre
Book Collections of Case Studies
Case Studies in Work, Employment and Human Resource ManagementCall Number: Available online
Cases in Strategic ManagementCall Number: Available online
Cases on Consumer-Centric Marketing ManagementCall Number: Available online
Books on the Case Research Method
Conducting Case Study Research for Business and Management Students by ISBN: 9781446274170Publication Date: 2018
Case Study Research for BusinessCall Number: Available Online
