Legal Dictionaries
This page includes links primarily to electronic resources, you may scroll down to the bottom of page for a list of our print legal dictionaries.
- A Dictionary of Law(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- Dictionary of Law Enforcement(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- Juriterm (Common law terminology in French)CENTRE DE TRADUCTION ET DE TERMINOLOGIE JURIDIQUES
Faculté de droit, Université de Moncton - Private Law Dictionaries (McGill)Private Law Dictionaries are original knowledge tools expressing private law in French and in English, taking into account the unique linguistic and legal context in which Quebec private law evolves. They are the only works in legal terminology that can claim to reflect the bilingual and bijural specificity of Quebec’s legal culture. Moreover, they are an essential tool for all jurists and translators in Quebec and in Canada who are interested in Quebec civil law, as well as for jurists in the field of comparative law.
- The Sage dictionary of criminology(uOttawa resource)
Available Online
Introduction to Law and the Legal System by Call Number: FTX General KF 385 .A4 G7 2015
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Companion to American Law(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Onlin
- Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- The New Oxford Companion to Law(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
- The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law(uOttawa resource) available via Oxford Reference Online
Legal Dictionaries in Print
The legal dictionaries are located in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.
- Black's law dictionary byCall Number: FTX Reference KF 156 .B53 2019
- Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien : avec table des abréviations et lexique anglais-français byCall Number: FTX Reference KE 183 .R443 2015
- Les bons mots du civil et du pénal : dictionnaire français-anglais des expressions juridiques byCall Number: FTX Reference K 94 .M335 2015
- Les mots du droit : lexique analogique juridique = legal thesaurus byCall Number: FTX Reference K 52 .F7 B43 2008
- Private law dictionary and bilingual lexicons byCall Number: Off-Campus Storage KEQ 217.3 .D52713 1991
- The dictionary of Canadian law byCall Number: FTX Reference KE 183 .D83 2011
English Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Oxford English Dictionary(uOttawa resource)
The recognized authority on all facets of the English language, from its early days to the present.
- Oxford Reference Online Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMaximum d'usagers simultanés: 5. Les définitions de plus de 100 dictionnaires dans toutes les domaines.
French Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Grand dictionnaire terminologiqueDatabase of French and English language terms covering 200 fields. Very useful for translation, revisions and writing purpose
- Nouveau Petit Robert Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Le Nouveau Petit Robert est la référence indispensable pour mieux écrire et s'exprimer en français. Il contient l'intégralité de l'ouvrage papier, qui bénéficie d'une large refonte éditoriale, ainsi que des enrichissements spécifiques à la version en ligne.
Multilingual Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- EuroDicAutomTranslation and drafting aids in the European Union languages
Language Portal
Includes Termium Plus the Government of Canada terminology and linguistic data bank, writing tools: ConjugArt, Juridictionaire, The Canadian Style, etc.