Databases - Law 101 - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Where to begin?

This page offers key law resources and databases. Current students, faculty and staff can connect from Off-campus.

Key Resources

CanLII
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
HeinOnline
Digital archives of legal information consisting of several full-text collections : The Law Library Journal - over 400 legal scholarly journals from inception; Federal Register (1936-1981); International Treaties and Agreements; United States Supreme Court decisions. Complete series. Image-based collections.
La Référence (REJB/DCL)
La Référence provides access to abstracts and full text of case law (from 1977, courts of Quebec, Supreme Court of Canada), legislation and secondary materials from Quebec.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw
Lexis Advance Quicklaw (new interface of LexisNexis Quicklaw) is a legal database containing comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials. You have access to resources such as: Halsbury's Law of Canada, Jurisclasseur Quebec, Canadian court and administrative tribunal decisions, case commentaries, legislation, and legal journals. A selective coverage of International material, including Halsbury's Law of England and Jurisclasseur France.
Soquij-recherche juridique (Azimut)
SOQUIJ publishes decisions from the judicial and administrative tribunals of the Province of Québec. AZIMUT is a product of SOQUIJ offering access to several French language databases.

Westlaw Canada (Campus connection) »
Westlaw Canada is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of U.S. and International material (Westlaw International) and Canadian material (LawSource). LawSource offers the Canadian Abrigment Case Digests, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.), Index to Canadian Legal Literature, Legal Pleadings, etc.

Key Databases

American State Papers, 1789-1838 »
Contains the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.

Annotated Leading Cases
Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals provides full text of the most important decisions, including concurring, separate and dissenting opinions. Distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law have commented the most important decisions of the ICTY, ICTR, The Special Court for Sierra Leone, The International Criminal Tribunal for Timor-Leste and the ICC. ALC is useful for those who are interested in the various legal aspects of the law of the ICTY, ICTR and other forms of international criminal adjudication.

Canada Statute Service (Canada Law Book) »
Access Canada Statute Service and Regulations, including the Canada Statute Citator alerting you to statutory changes and interpretive case law, history and case links. The Internet version updated within 2 business days of the latest Canada Gazette.
Canada Treaty Information »

The Treaty Law Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade maintains up-to-date records of all pertinent information relating to the status of treaties affecting Canada. This database contains the texts of Bilateral, Multilateral and Plurilateral treaties involving Canada as well as links to important international treaties and organizations.
Canadian Patent Database »

This database lets you access over 75 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 1,400,000 patent documents.

Chinalawinfo
A vast collection of Chinese law all in one place, Chinalawinfo offers deep archives to 1949, encompassing Chinese law from the Central to local levels comprehensively. You can access laws & regulations, cases, tax treaties, WTO & China, gazettes, and law journals online in Chinese. The English database contains authoritative translations of important legal content relevant to English speakers interested in Chinese law. Click on IP Login for access.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
Constitutional law of South Africa
This electronic version of the book Constitutional Law of South Africa by S. Woolman is one of the most widely cited treatise on South African constitutional law. It covers all aspects of judicial practice, constitutional and institutional law and all operational requirements and the substantive provisions of the Bill of Rights. You will find a comprehensive treatment of the relevant statutes and case law, a thorough review of secondary literature and the ability to research, where applicable, the relevant foreign and international jurisprudence.

Dalloz.fr »
Maximum simultaneous users: 2. Dalloz.fr is a database designed for retrieval of all Dalloz materials - Codes, journal archives, Encyclopedias. It consists of 6 categories of law: civil, business, penal, administrative, social, and international.
Doctrinal Plus »
Bibliographical database of over 100,000 references to mostly French-language articles published in more than 200 legal periodicals

EmploymentSource
An online employment law research tool containing topics such as employment standards, pay equity, occupational health and safety, human rights, privacy and workers' compensation. It includes expert commentary (for example, S. Ball's Canadian Employment Law, and H. Levitt's The Law of Dismissal in Canada, Third Edition), case law (with PDF images) and the full text of relevant legislation. It also includes a dismissal notice database.
Express 2.0
Express 2.0 consists of two new e-newsletters, L'Express and L'Express Travail. Keeping you current on Quebec law, they provide daily updates on developments in case law, legislation, and commentary. Consult summaries and full-text judgments online, along with reports on legislation and legal commentary and thousands of links to cited documents.

Foreign Law Guide (BrillOnline) »

Foreign Law Guide is a comprehensive database providing information on the law and the legal system of more than 190 countries or regions of the world (overview of the legal system, the main legislative and jurisprudential publications, online resources, references to published guides in English and the main laws of the country organized by topic). An indispensable resource for comparative law research.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia
Halsbury's Laws of Australia is a legal encyclopaedia providing a comprehensive overview of Australian law, with over 89 titles covering both mainstream and little known subject areas. It provides principles of law with references to Australian legislative and judicial authority.
Halsbury’s laws of Canada
Halsbury's Laws of Canada is the definitive general reference to Canadian statutory and judicial law. It is a starting point for understanding any given legal topic and provides a clear exposition of every aspect of current Canadian law.
Halsbury’s laws of England
Halsbury's Laws of England is an authoritative encyclopaedia of law in the England and Wales, arranged by subject. It is particularly useful if you are researching a new area of law and need to find the most important cases, legislation and commentary in that area.
HeinOnline
Digital archives of legal information consisting of several full-text collections : The Law Library Journal - over 400 legal scholarly journals from inception; Federal Register (1936-1981); International Treaties and Agreements; United States Supreme Court decisions. Complete series. Image-based collections.
ICC Dispute Resolution Library
ICC Dispute Resolution Library is a dynamic and searchable online service provided by the ICC International Court of Arbitration containing more than 1000 relevant documents from its established publications on arbitration, including ICC Dispute Resolution Rules. Multilingual.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (EBSCO)»
EBSCOhost Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This collection offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-81 »
Maximum simultaneous users: 1. Bibliographic database that cites articles included in the Index to Legal Periodicals published between 1908 and 1981. Includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and journal articles.

Informit AGIS Plus Text
Informit AGIS Plus Text : Full text of legal resources from Australasia and Asia-Pacific; includes all aspects of the law.

Inforoute Notariale »
Website of the Chambre des notaires du Québec gathering documents useful for the exercise of the notarial profession (monographs, journals like Revue du notariat, model acts, etc.).
Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACHR) Project »
The Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACHR) Project database, from Loyola Law School, includes comprehensive summaries of judgments rendered by the IACHR. Summaries include a description of case facts, procedural history, merits and states' compliance with Inter-American Courts' judgments. The database is searchable by casen name, country and topic.
International Law Reports »

The International Law Reports Online is devoted to the regular and systematic reporting of decisions on points of international law from every relevant jurisdiction -- international and national. The database includes cases in English from international and national courts world-wide and provides full coverage from 1919 to the most current rulings.

Click Cases, then Data Sources. Check only All Cases, then click the +, and check only International Law reports.
International Encyclopaedia of Laws »
Covering 25 different categories of law, this database provides information on how certain national legal system governs a specific field of law. Information is readily available on the most important legal disciplines in leading countries, with texts providing an overview of fields of law from a comparative perspective.

Investment Arbitration Reporter
The Investment Arbitration Reporter is an electronic news service tracking cross-border arbitrations between foreign investors and their host governments. It is browsable by theme or full-text searchable. The site also includes links to a limited number of full-text arbitration decisions.
Investment Claims
Investment Claims from Oxford University Press is a one-stop resource for anyone needing information on international investment disputes. It offers investor-state arbitration awards and decisions and includes the text of bilateral and multilateral investment treaties and commentaries from OUP journals and monographs related to investment international arbitration.
Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG)
Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG) is a specialized online research database for investment treaty law. It knits together the treaties, arbitral rules and case law used in international investment treaty arbitration. ISLG’s research tools allow an individual to conduct their research with pinpoint accuracy, instantly linking to the specific passages in arbitral decisions and awards where a tribunal discusses a particular legal instrument, issue or prior arbitral decision.
Jurisource
(French database)
This virtual library contains hundreds of resources, such as precedents, control lists, tools for professional development, terminology resources, laws, jurisprudence, etc.
Juta’s Law Journals
Provides access to authoritative South African legal journals such as Africa Journal of Comparative Constitutional Law, Journal of South African Law,
South African Intellectual Property Law Journal.

Kluwer Arbitration »

Comprehensive and fully-searchable database of primary and secondary arbitration related materials with access to full-text downloads of all documents including those from such partners in this product as ICCA, PCA and ITA.
Kluwer Competition Law »

Kluwer Competition Law is an online collection of primary source material (legislation, decisions and case law), with commentaries and analysis covering EU and international competition law. The information is organized around 4 themes: antitrust, cartels, mergers, state subsidies.

Kluwer IP Law
Kluwer IP Law provides an access to authoritative analysis, case law, news and legislation relevant to all aspects of intellectual property law across a vast range of jurisdictions.
LabourSource
LabourSource (formerly Labour Spectrum) provides access to Canadian labour law decisions and commentary covering decades of court decisions, including Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries, Labour Arbitration Cases and Brown & Beatty's text, Canadian Labour Arbitration. Canadian labour legislation is also available.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac indexes about 800 major legal publications (from the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Ireland, Australia and New Zealand) such as law reviews, (e.g., Quebec law reviews are represented), legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals. Law-related articles published in over 1,000 general interest and business journals are also indexed.

Lextenso.fr »
Maximum simultaneous users: 1. Lextenso is a legal database from France of articles and case law which have appeared in French journals and reviews such as the Gazette du Palais, the Répertoire du Notariat Defrénois, the Revue des contrats, the Revue du droit public, etc.
LLMC Digital »

LLMC is a digital archive of government and legal information. Coverage is primarily American.

Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers (ACLU), 1912‐1990 »
Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), the collection focuses on civil rights, race, gender, worker’s rights, popular protest, the role of government and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law (1600-1926)
Contains foreign legal treatises of many different countries, comparisons between different legal systems including Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law and Islamic Law. Also includes commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, and festschriften.

Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources (1600-1970) »
This database provides legal codes, laws, regulations and commentary for the United Kingdom, France, Germany and other Northern European countries. It also includes historical laws and regulations for the U.K. and the Republic of Ireland.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926) »
Searchable full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises (texts), comprised of 22,000 works on American, British and Commonwealth law. Provides access to over 10 million pages from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources »
A fully searchable digital archive of United States state and territorial codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, the published records of the American colonies, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926) »
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world. Includes more than 10,000 titles and nearly two million pages of fully searchable content from the law libraries of Harvard and Yale as well as The Library of the Bar of the City of New York.
Making of Modern Law: US Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1832-1978) »
A comprehensive collection of records and briefs brought before the highest court of the US by leading legal practitioners, many who later became judges and associates of the court. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions.

Oxford Competition Law
Oxford Competition Law provides results of competitive analysis, including key commentaries published by Oxford University Press on European competition law, with links to case law and doctrine, such as Faull & Nikpay: The EC Law of Competition and Whish & Bailey on Competition Law.
Oxford Historical Treaties
Oxford Historical Treaties is a comprehensive online resource of nearly 16,000 global treaties concluded between 1648 and 1919 (between the Peace of Westphalia and the establishment of the League of Nations). The source for these treaties is The Consolidated Treaty Series, the full text of Parry's The Consolidated Treaty Series.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law contains online editions of important reference books and treatises published by Oxford University Press. Books such as Oppenheim, Oxford Handbooks in International Law, as well as Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an online initiative devoted to disseminating scholarly working research papers, forthcoming papers and abstracts in the social sciences, such as accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management.
Sabinet SA ePublications
The Sabinet SA ePublications service offers a collection of online South African law journals.

Strada lex »
Maximum simultaneous users: 2. A truly comprehensive virtual law library, Strada lex is the most extensive legal database in Belgium. Legislation, case law and legal doctrine from all areas of law are assembled together in a single website. Journals and content from several publishers as well as the main public official sources are constantly updated in French, Dutch and English.
TradeLawGuide »
TradeLawGuide is a WTO research product. Use TradeLawGuide to search WTO agreements, instruments, jurisprudence, and Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) minutes. TradeLawGuide includes article and jurisprudence citators that allow you to update WTO law, and a Subject Navigator tool that indexes materials by subject.
TRIBLEX (case-law databases) »
International Labor Organization (ILO) Administrative Tribunal judgments are found on Triblex, a case law database. Triblex allows users to browse Tribunal case law by session, organization or keyword. This tribunal hears dispute that employees of international organizations bring against their employers.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 »
Commonly referred to as the Serial Set, it refers to the sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 to 1994.
United Nations Treaty Collection »
Full text of all bilateral and multilateral treaties and international agreements. Also details the status of treaties, including signatories, ratifications, and lodged declarations, reservations or objections, etc.
VLexJustis »

VLex Global and JustisOne have merged to become vLexJustis. This new platform combines a wide range of legal information: case law, legislation, regulations, digests, draft bills, forms and contracts, law reports, legal blogs, official gazettes, books, journals, newspapers, court dockets — from both common and civil law jurisdictions — aided with intelligent tools, such as an AI-powered legal research assistant and graphical visualisation of case law relationships and treatments.

Featured collections available on this new service include the largest collections from UK superior courts, Irish courts, all Caribbean courts, Latin American and Spanish courts, alongside comprehensive coverage from the United States, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, etc.
WorldTradeLaw.net »
A research tool for people interested in international trade law issues, WorldTradeLaw.net includes access to the "Dispute Settlement Commentary" which provides summary and critical analysis of WTO dispute settlements

Related Databases

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 »
Confidential Print: Africa (1834-1966) reproduces online in searchable PDF page images important British Foreign Office and Colonial Office documents on Africa from the start of the historical modern British colonial enterprise in Africa through the first years of African national independence.
Confidential Print: Latin America 1833-1969 »
A collection of the UK government documents issued between 1833 and 1969, covering all countries of mainland South and Central America as well as Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba. It includes correspondence, diplomatic dispatches, statistical tables, minutes, treaties, political summaries, economic analyses, annual reports and maps.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 »
This collection, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, British Government, covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969 on countries including the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. Material type includes: reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries and economic analyses.
Confidential Print: North America 1743-1961, 1824-1961 »
The Confidential Print series issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since c1820 is one of the fundamental building blocks for research that should be possessed by any academic library and one of the most important series produced by the British Government.

The series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams as others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
La base de données Criminal Justice Abstracts répertorie des articles de revues, des livres et des rapports des gouvernements et des organismes non gouvernementaux dans les domaines de la criminologie et des domaines connexes. La couverture est internationale. Un résumé accompagne chaque document indexé.
Derwent Innovations Index
Une banque importante de brevets internationaux dans tous les domaines de recherche et technologie. La plupart de ces brevets sont en texte intégral. Donne aussi accès aux citations de brevets.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
La base de données comprend les ouvrages, brochures, in-planos et autres imprimés figurant dans la célèbre bibliographie de Charles Evans.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
La base de données comprend les ouvrages, brochures, in-planos et autres imprimés figurant dans l'importante bibliographie de Ralph R. Shaw et Richard H. Shoemaker.

Financial Times (Ebscohost)
The Financial Times is one of the world's leading business publications and delivers the latest on business, economic and political news from around the world.

[+] [-]

https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/search/advanced?vid=0&sid=00666c5d-c5c9-4206-990e-45e6c8290a46%40sessionmgr4007
Genderwatch
Scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine stories, government reports, etc., focusing on gender issues across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including education, health sciences, history, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies.
Indigenous Peoples North America
Covers political, social and cultural history of Native Peoples from 17th to 20th centuries. Provides full text of primary source documents including archival materials, government publications, manuscripts, book collections, legal documents, newspapers and photographs and images.

Labordoc
Créée par l'Organisation Internationale du Travail, cette base de données contient des références à un grand choix de publications électroniques et imprimées, y compris des articles de revues. Ces références concernent des pays du monde entier, ainsi que tous les aspects du travail et des moyens de subsistance durables ; les droits de l'homme et les aspects du développement économique et social relatifs au travail sont également traités.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Index d'articles de revues, de livres, de rapports de recherche, de publications gouvernementales et de rapports non publiés. Couverture internationale.
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
La base de données Parliamentary Rolls of Medieval England contient les registres de réunions du Parlement anglais, depuis le règne d'Édouard Ier (1272-1307) jusqu'à celui d'Henri VII (1485-1509). Les textes sont présentés selon un format de fenètres divisées, avec la version originale des textes rédigés en latin, en anglo-normand ou en moyen anglais, ainsi qu'une traduction en anglais moderne.
SPORTDiscus »
Maximum simultaneous users: 10. International coverage. Indexes periodicals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and audiovisual material. Includes the North American dissertations and theses collection of the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance, University of Oregon, from 1949 to the present.

Morisset Library has the complete collection on microfiche. SPORTDiscus is produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) located in Ottawa.
United Nations Digital Library »
The United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, key UN publications
series, and landmark collections, such as the Index to Proceedings (ITPs),
and Oral History interviews.

Violence and Abuse abstracts
Index to journal literature on interpersonal violence, including psychological, physical and sexual abuse against women and children, hate crimes against groups such as gay and lesbians and ethnic minorities, elder abuse and neglect, work place violence, gang violence and other violence impinging upon domestic relations.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
History of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, with full-text documents as well as book, film and website reviews and teaching tools.

HeinOnline Collection

American Association of Law Libraries
Includes several publications of the AALL: AALL Spectrum, the Law Library journal and a newsletter.
American Bar Association Collection Periodicals
A collection of digitized American Bar Association Law Library Collection Periodicals. It provides access to many current volumes of periodicals and covers all subject areas of American law.
American Indian Law Collection
With more than 700 unique titles and 350,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.
American Law Institute Library
The American Law Institute library on HeinOnline consists of full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the Institute's newsletter, The ALI Reporter. It also includes the Restatements of the Law, Uniform Commercial Code, Model Penal Code, ALI-ABA Periodicals, and the Statement of Essential Human Rights (a pioneering ALI project of the mid-1940s).
Association of American Law Schools
Collection contains several documents from the AALS: handbook, proceedings of the annual meeting, Clinical Review and Journal of Legal Education.
Australian and Canadian Acts of Parliament
Contains all acts of parliament for Australia from 1901 to 2010 and acts of parliament for Canada from 1792 to 2011.
Bar Journals
This HeinOnline collection contains more than 70 state and local Bar Journals, full text of the articles.
Canada Supreme Court Reports
HeinOnline's Supreme Court of Canada Reports contains the official, bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes more than 9,400 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.
Code of Federal Regulations
Contains the Code of Federal Regulations from 1938 to 1983. It is searchable by year and title. Chercher par année et par titre.
Early American Case Law
Contains the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which includes American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports.
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
An access to more than 100,000 of the most important early English cases (representative of 265 series of Reports, arranged by courts) that laid the foundation for the laws of nations under the British Empire.
European Center for Minority Issues
Access to several publications of the ECMI, which conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe.
Federal Register Library
Contains the Federal Register (from 1936), the Code of Federal Regulations, the United States Government Manual, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and selected acts and regulations.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database
This collection allows researchers to browse through some international law publications such as from the American Society of International Law and prominent yearbooks from around the world, as well as the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law digests.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
This series presents official historical documents on major foreign policy decisions of the United States and on important diplomatic activity. It is composed of more than 600 books, beginning with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861 and continues until the administration of Jimmy Carter in 1980.
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
The Collected Courses Online is the electronic version of the longstanding book series on international law: Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. The courses deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of the subject, including legislation and case law. They are given by the most prominent legal specialists in the world.

* All courses at the Academy are published in the language in which they were delivered, either in English or in French.
Harvard Research in International Law
Access to the reprint of the Harvard Research in International Law, as well as Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal.
HeinOnline Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
This collection brings together more than 550 titles dealing with this topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports,...
URL: https://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=gun

History of Bankruptcy: Taxation and Economic Reform in America Part III
Cette base de données comprend l'historique de textes de loi, des traités, des documents et plus liés à la loi sur les faillites aux États-Unis. On y trouve également des livres classiques datant des années 1800 et des liens vers des articles scientifiques qui sont liés à l'étude de la faillite en Amérique.

History of International Law
From HeinOnline, this database Includes more than 500 titles and 550,000 pages dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!
History of Supreme Court Nominations
This collection includes the Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices issued by the Senate Judiciary Committee, providing coverage of the nomination of Louis Brandeis in 1916 until today. It also includes books and scientific articles on the Supreme Court, past and present, beginning with the first judge of the Supreme Court, Justice John Jay.
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
This monumental collection is a compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This first comprehensive database includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes more than 450 worldwide legal publications, including Canada, and published in several languages as well as French and English. It provides bibliographic references to articles, book reviews, essay collections and congress reports covering a wide variety of legal topics.
Intellectual Property Law Collection
With nearly 2 million pages of legislative histories, treatises, documents, classics, and more relating to copyrights, patents, and trademarks, this collection allows researchers to search across all intellectual property law materials in one database.
Israel Law Reports
It includes the complete run of the Israel Law Reports which provides access to more than 220 cases in an online digital format.
Judges and the Judiciary: Exploring America's Court System
This collection includes decades of legislative intent, testimony, and pre-enactment history in one centralized collection. Congress and the Courts features: Congress & the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, Federal Judicial Center publications, periodicals, links to scholarly articles, CFR Title 28 - Judicial Administration and other related work.
Law Journal Library
Contains more than 1,250 law and law-related periodicals published in 29 countries. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes up to the most current issue allowed by the publishers.
Legal Classics
Offers access to selected prominent historical legal texts by authors such as Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, Edwardo Coke, Roscoe Pound , and Joseph Story.
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
This collection contains the text of all the volumes (vols. 1-19/1987-2009) of the MPEEP.

[+] [-]

.
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws - Archive Publications (NCCUSL)
This collection covers the NCCUSL-Archive Publications, manuals for the NCCUSL and the work of the Annual Conference meetings (1st-119th, 1891 to 2010), as well as the transcripts of each annual meeting and transcripts of the debates Committee of the Whole on each uniform Act and Model Law. The and "approved subsequent versions" of each uniform law are also included.
New York Legal Research Library
This specialized library includes the reports and opinions of the New York Attorney General, the New York State Register, Tax Cases, New York State Session Laws, New York Law Journals, the New York State Bar Association Journal, legal classics from or about New York, and New York trials.
Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications
This collection includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School. View publications such as the 22-volume set, A Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law. Book and Articles in English by Charles Szladits, along with An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by E. Allan Farnsworth, among various others.
Pentagon Papers
Officially titled United States - Vietnam Relations, 1945-1967: A Study Prepared by the Department of Defense. These "Pentagon Papers" are a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political-military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
Philip C. Jessup Library
Contains the ILSA law journals and the Philip Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition Compendium (since 1960)
Revised Statutes of Canada
This collection offers a complete coverage of all six revisions (1985, 1970, 1952, 1927, 1906, 1886) from the official printed volumes of the Revised Statutes of Canada.
Scottish Legal History: Featuring Publications of the Stair Society
This collection gives access to the official publications of the Stair Society including the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series (1936-present) as well as historical treatises and scholarly law review articles on Scots Law.
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
This collection contains manuscripts, cases and plea rolls online of Early English dating back to A.D. 1066. It also includes the Selden Society Annual Series and other publications.
Session Laws Library
The Session Laws Library (HeinOnline) contains session laws of all 50 U.S. states (c. 1995-present) as well as Canada (Acts of the Parliament of Canada from 1883), Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register.
Spinelli's Law Librarian's Reference Shelf (International)
The first digital law library designed exclusively for law librarians, this collection available on Hein Online brings together into one central database various reference works and tools, including legal dictionaries, legal bibliographies and AALL publications.
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
Access to the State Attorney General Reports & Opinions for all fifty states as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands (from 1980 to present). As the legal advisor to the executive officials of the government, the Attorney General renders requested legal advice, generally in the form of written opinions. Although these opinions are the official statements of an executive officer, issued in accordance with this authority, they are merely advisory statements and not mandatory orders. This material is searchable by keyword or by Opinion Number.
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Full-text searchable database of historical, superseded state statutes for all fifty states in the United States of America. The coverage goes back to as early as 1717!
Statutes of the Realm
"Printed by command of His Majesty King George the Third, in pursuance of an address of the House of Commons of Great Britain, from original records and authentic manuscripts."

Originally published: London : G. Eyre and A. Strahan, 1810-1828?
Vol. 1 includes charters covering the period 1101-1301. Includes indexes.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-2012)
Comprehensive source for identifying articles, books, government documents, loose-leaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects.
Taxation & economic reform in America, Parts I & II, 1781-2010
This collection contains several volumes and legislative history materials and other documents on taxation and economic reform in America.
Treaties and Agreements Library
This collection contains key, primary sources for the text of U.S. treaties, conventions, protocols and agreements, as well as international agreements published in International Legal Materials.

[+] [-]

This collection contains key, primary sources for the text of U.S. treaties, conventions, protocols and agreements, as well as international agreements published in International Legal Materials.
Trends in Law Library Management and Technology
This collection includes all the issues of the journal Trends in Law Library Management and Technology since 1987.
U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection
This collection contains publications such as the Annual Report, Committee proceedings, surveys, and official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General.
U.S. Congressional Documents
This collection includes the Annals of the Congress of the United States, Register of Debates in Congress, Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004), the American State Papers and the Journals of the Continental Congress.
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
This library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
This is a collection of documents produced in Congress in the process of enacting significant laws.
U.S. International Trade Library
It contains information on the exchange of goods and services taking place between the U.S. and other countries, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930. Included are USITC Publications Archive, Legislative Histories, CFR & U.S. Code Title 15 and 19: Commerce & Foreign Trade and Customs Duties, Notable Publications, Scholarly Articles, and much more!

U.S. Presidential Library
Cette collection donne accès à divers documents, messages, rapports, discours, ordres exécutifs émis par le Président des États-Unis.

U.S. Statutes at Large
This collection includes the volumes (1789-2004) and the 1st and 2nd editions of the Revised Statutes of the United States.
U.S. Supreme Court Library
This collection contains the U.S Reports (1754-2003) as well as books and periodicals on the Court, such as the Supreme Court Review.
United Nations Law Collection
Provides reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series.
United States Code
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
World Constitutions Illustrated
This collection includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation and other related documents.
World Treaty Library
The World Treaty Library brings together works identified from Oceana’s Consolidated Treaty Series, Hein’s U.S. Treaty Index, Rohn’s World Treaty Index, Dumont, Wiktor, Martens, the League of Nations, and the United Nations Treaty Series, covering the time period from 1648 to the present. All together more than 160,000 treaty records have been identified. Also included are hundreds of treaty related publications, a bibliography of select titles of importance to world treaty research, and hundreds of the best, and most-cited law review articles related to treaty research.
World Trials Library
This collection contains famous and important trials transcripts and other documents, such as John Lawson's American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals, etc.