Key Databases
Articles can be found in periodicals (published periodically) such as academic or scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Search through the following databases to access articles and periodicals.
- Omni► In the Advanced search, under Resource Type select Articles from the drop-down menu
► Type keywords that describe your topic
► Refine your search results by other criteria (e.g. peer-reviewed, date range, language, subject, etc.) - GEOBASE (Engineering Village)Bibliographic information and abstracts indexed to 2000 international journals, conferences and monographs for development studies in earth sciences, ecology, cartography, geomechanics, geography, and oceanography.
- ScopusA comprehensive database for scientific, technical and medical information, containing 12,900 journal titles from 4,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1966.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database (sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities) with content dating back to 1900. Coverage includes over 12,000 journals worldwide (including Open Access journals), over 150,000 conference proceedings, and over 275,000 books and book chapters.
Specific Databases
- GreenFILEMultidisciplinary in coverage, GreenFILE covers many aspects of environmental sciences, focusing on topics such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Indexed content includes academic journals, trade publications and monographs.
- Environmental Impact » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowOver 1.3 million records (20,000 full text documents) and 1,700 reports from over 200 key organizations. Content from 5,500 journals as well as books, reports, theses and conferences. The subject coverage includes effects of climate change on the terrestrial and freshwater biosphere, mitigation strategies and adverse influences of humans on the environment.
- Environmental Studies & Policy Collection » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community and governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
- Urban Studies AbstractsProvides abstracts of articles, reports and studies describing developments in the field of urban studies.
Librarian
Using articles
Articles can be found in periodicals such as academic or scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
Most scholarly articles are peer-reviewed, which means that they have been evaluated by other researchers in the same field.
Please see Ulrich's Periodicals Directory database to identify the type of periodical.
