Games and Gaming

Places to Search

If you're researching games, there are some main tools that you may want to search.

Omni (for books, games, and more)

Omni
The University of Ottawa Library search tool. Search for books or games from our collection, as well as hundreds of databases we subscribe to.

Multidisciplinary databases (for research about games)

Academic Search Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with lots of full-text.
Scholars Portal Journals » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Another multidisciplinary full-text database.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary citation database. Does not contain full-text, but uOttawa button will help you find full-text in our other databases.
Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Another multidisciplinary citation database. Like SCOPUS, does not contain full-text, but the uOttawa button will help you here too.

Education databases (for research about games and learning)

ERIC (PROQUEST Platform) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resources Information Center is a database focused on education. Although you can search ERIC for free on the web, here you have direct access to the full-text of many more results.
Education Source » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Another database focused on education.
LearnTechLib » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
A database focused on educational technology and e-learning.

Other databases (for research about other specific aspects of games)

If your games research focuses on one or more other disciplines, such as business or health sciences, you can consult the research guides for those disciplines to find other discipline-specific databases you might search. Contact Digital Literacy Librarian Mish Boutet if you would like help with this.

uOttawa Theses & Dissertations

Although uOttawa has no specific program about games, graduate students from a range of disciplines have written their theses and dissertations on games.

Faculty of Education

Shut Up and Play, or Get Out: A Pedagogy of Gendered Digital Identities in Video Gaming
by Kelsey Catherine Schmitz, Faculty of Education, 2018

Living Pedagogies of a Game-Master: An Autoethnographic Education of Liminal Moments
by Graeme Lachance, Faculty of Education, 2016

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

A Virtual Reality Role-Playing Serious Game for Experiential Learning
by Enas Abdulrahman Alrehaili, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2018

A Serious Game for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
by Alejandra Ornelas Barajas, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2017

Activity-Centric Prioritized Streaming of Games to Mobile Devices
by Hesam Aldin Rahimi Koopayi, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2012

A distributed location-aware routing architecture for P2P massively multiplayer online games
by Saurabh Ratti, School of Information Technology and Engineering, 2010

Architectural challenges and solutions for peer-to-peer massively multiplayer online games
by Dewan Tanvir Ahmed, School of Information Technology and Engineering, 2009

Generation of rule-based adaptive strategies for games
by Alejandro Lujan, School of Information Technology and Engineering, 2009

Suitability of searching and representing multimedia learning resources in a three-dimensional virtual gaming environment
by Abu Saleh Md. Mahfujur Rahman, School of Information Technology and Engineering, 2007

Visibility-based zonal communication in massively multi-user online games and distributed simulations
by Ihab Kazem, School of Information Technology and Engineering, 2007

Display management for a shared visual workspace in a game playing context.
by Éric Le Bail, Department of Electrical Engineering, 1991

Department of History

Passé ludique et déviations historiques: Sens et fonction du Moyen Âge dans les jeux de rôle
by Guillaume Viveiros, Department of History, 2017

Department of Communication

« Je joue, donc je suis » : une étude de l’impact des jeux vidéo sur l’identité de joueurs franco-ontariens
by Geoffroy Legault-Thivierge, Department of Communication, 2016

Playing with Reality: Frame Valuations and the 2012 Alternate Reality Game
by Steve Payette, Department of Communication, 2012

School of Human Kinetics

Active Video Games and Energy Balance in Male Adolescents
by Aidan Gribbon, School of Human Kinetics, 2015

Effects of games-based biofeedback training on the attentional demands of balance tasks in older adults
by Eric Heiden, School of Human Kinetics, 2008

School of Information Studies

A Case Study of the Use of the Game Minecraft and Its Affinity Spaces for Information Literacy Development in Teen Gamers
by Sandra Bebbington, School of Information Studies, 2014

School of Psychology

Teaching children about Internet safety: An evaluation of the effectiveness of an interactive computer game
by Anne Trinneer, School of Psychology, 2006