Help and handouts
Plan your searches in the databases
From your question ⇒ to concepts to explore ⇒ to words to search
-
PICO - Systematic ReviewWord document to organize the concepts and terms of your search stategies in databases, in PICO format.
-
PCC - Scoping ReviewWord document to organize the concepts and terms of your search stategies in databases, in PCC format.
-
Concepts search- Any reviewWord document to organize the concepts and terms of your search stategies in databases.
Works for any reviews, adaptable: SPIDER...
Improve your database searches
-
Boolean Logic and Special CharactersTo build your searches in databases
-
uOttawa SearchTranslationToolTo help you through the translations of search strategies
-
Updating search ResultsTo extract search results from databases by date. Use to update the results of search strategies for Systematic Reviews or Scoping Review.
-
Using filters*** Draft - all comments are welcome ***
Find and use filters and expert search lines in your search strategies.
Keep track of your searches
-
Research logNEW contents
Feel free to take notes of the searches you do. Literature searches take a lot of time, and after a while, you will forget what you have explored! -
Search inventory (Excel)Be organized and keep track of all your searches
-
Cited_byWho has cited this article ?? Here some examples to find list of citations in databases.
Monitor your progress
Here's a list of stages you shouldn't miss, it will keep you on track as your project progresses : Checklist for KS projects
Use a citation manager
To create your bibliography, you can use a citation manager. If you don't have one yet, I suggest you work with Zotero. Here are some links that will help you:
- Information page: Zotero
- Link to download the software: https://www.zotero.org/download/
- Zotero User Guide, with our resources
- Tutorial - training : How to use Zotero
After all, if you don't like Zotero, other options are available: Mendeley and EndNote. Please don't hesitate to contact me!
APA
APA 7th
- Quick overview of APA: in our guides, explore the page Citing your sources - APA
Need more help ?
- Perdue Online Writing Lab presents APA Style Introduction and other examples or advices.
- Open educational resources here : APA Style Citation Tutorial
