Find articles - Medical Education | Health Professions Education - Guides de recherche

Search the catalogue and databases

Search Terms

The terms below may be helpful when searching in databases and the University of Ottawa's catalogue (Omni):

medical education
medical school
medical student
medical college
undergraduate medical education
graduate medical education
medical residen*
medical internship
residen*
health profession* education

Sample Search

Here is a sample search on this topic entered into the library's catalogue (OMNI). You can access OMNI from the library's home page.

Common database search operators

Quotation marks -- " "

e.g. "public health" (will retrieve documents that contain this exact phrase)

Truncation -- *

e.g. Canad* (will retrieve documents that contain Canada, Canadian, Canadians, canadien, etc.)

Wildcards -- ?

e.g. wom?n (will retrive documents that contain woman or women)

Please note that operators and search syntax may vary from database to database: consult specific database help pages for more information.

Key databases

PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
3rd-Party login is now mandatory.
Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
EMBASE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
CINAHL (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Education Source » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Education Source is intended for students in education as well as educational professionals and policymakers. The collection includes journals, books, and conference papers. Education Source also contains citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage spans all educational levels (early childhood to post-secondary) and includes information on sub-specialities such as health education, ESL and assessment and evaluation.
ERIC (OVID platform) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database produced by the U.S. Dept. of Education and other affiliated organizations. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) covers academic and professional literature in education as well as other related domains such as psychology and sociology.
APA PsycInfo (OVID) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and government reports in psychology and related disciplines.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.

Journals

This list provides a snapshot of key medical education journals. For a comprehensive list, please consult A List of High-Impact Medical Education Journals compiled by the Osmosis Team.

Academic Medicine
This leading peer-reviewed journal, published by the Association of American Medical Colleges, focuses on research topics that impact academic medicine such as “education and training issues; health and science policy; institutional policy, management, and values; research practice; and clinical practice in academic settings.” It was first published in 1926.
Advances in Health Sciences Education
Advances in Health Sciences Education focuses on research that reviews “important developments” in health education, and invites researchers to submit papers that discuss new technologies and teaching strategies.
BMC Medical Education
BMC Medical Education is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research. Topic areas include articles on undergraduate, postgraduate, and continuing medical education.
Medical Education (ASME)
Medical Education is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes research on faculty development, teaching methods, curriculum design, assessments, and other topics. It makes publishing decisions on most papers in about eight weeks.
Journal of Continuing Education in the Health Professions
Addresses continuing education and continuing professional development in the health sciences. Topic areas include continuous quality improvement, health policy and performance, competency assessment, knowledge translation, team learning, and disease management.
Medical Science Educator
A peer-reviewed publication of the International Association of Medical Science Educators. The purpose of this electronic publication is to present scholarly activities, opinions, and resources in medical science education. Submissions that address a wide array of topics are invited.
Medical Teacher
The Association for Medical Education in Europe (AMEE) publishes this journal. It features research on topics like teaching methods and assessment strategies that affect health education faculty and administrators.
Teaching and Learning in Medicine
An international forum for scholarly state-of-the art research on the purposes and processes of teaching and learning the education of medical professionals.

Practical issues in the conduct of medical education, as well as issues more basic to medical education, and provide analysis and empirical research needed to facilitate educational decision making by administrators, teachers, and learners. Includes all levels of medical education, from premedical to postgraduate and continuing medical education
Perspectives in Medical Education
Perspectives on Medical Education mission is support and enrich collaborative scholarship between education researchers and clinical educators, and to advance new knowledge regarding clinical education practices.

Sources:

A list of high-impact medical education journals - osmosis. (n.d.). Retrieved August 12, 2022, from https://www.osmosis.org/blog/2020/02/10/a-list-of-highimpact-medical-education-journals

Faculty Development Office McGill University. (2016, August 25). Medical Education Journals . Retrieved August 12, 2022, from https://www.mcgill.ca/medhealthsci-facdev/links/journals