To start
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Clinical Practice Guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care. Guidelines are produced by a variety of organizations and are usually freely available.
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs)
Standards and Guidelines of the College of Nurses of Ontario : The College provides practice standards and guidelines to support nurses in providing safe and ethical nursing care to the people of Ontario.
Clinical Practice Guidelines of the Indigenous Program at the University of Ottawa
Evaluating Clinical Guidelines
Evaluate the clinical guidelines: you can use one of these tools.
- From CADTH, Critical Appraisal of Clinical Practice Guidelines
- "Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation (AGREE II) ". For more information, check out their resources.
Organizations
Canadian Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Alberta Toward Optimized Practice (TOP)Toward Optimized Practice (TOP) helps Alberta physicians implement clinical practice improvements into their clinics using measurement and evidence with the goal of improving both patient care and clinical management.
- Clinical Practice Guidelines and Protocols in British ColumbiaBC Guidelines are clinical practice guidelines and protocols that provide recommendations to B.C. practitioners on delivering high quality, appropriate care to patients with specific clinical conditions or diseases. These “Made in BC” clinical practice guidelines are developed by the Guidelines and Protocol Advisory Committee (GPAC), an advisory committee to the Medical Services Commission... (English only)
- Manitoba Health Communicable Disease Management ProtocolsCommunicable Disease Management Protocols The prevention, management and control of communicable diseases requires the active participation and cooperation of all health-care professionals and practitioners... (English only)
- Cancer Care Ontario GuidelinesCancer Care Ontario guidelines cover the entire cancer continuum – prevention, screening, diagnostic assessment, treatment, palliative care, end-of-life care and survivorship. They contain recommendations for practice and policy that reflect the most current and best evidence available from healthcare research and expert opinion.
- Québec - Directives cliniques aux professionnelsFrench mainly. Few documents in English.
- Gouvernment of Canada - Disease Prevention and Control GuidelinesThe guidelines have been published by PHAC to support Canada's disease prevention and control efforts.
Within each category, the guidelines are classified alphabetically by main topic or disease condition (appearing in bold) and then by year - A Guide to the Canadian Medical Association Handbook on Clinical Practice GuidelinesFrom the CMAJ, November 6, 2007, 177(10).
International Clinical Practice Guidelines
- US National Guideline Clearinghouse (NSG) Warning Site not updatedNational Guideline Clearinghouse (also known as NGC and guideline.gov) website shuts down after July 16, 2018. United States
See alternative sites below and the section Searching for Guidelines - Guidelines International Network (GIN)The Guidelines International Network (GIN) is a network of organisations and individuals interested in evidence-based guidelines and has one of the world’s largest international guideline libraries.
- American College of Physisians Guidelines (ACP)United States
- WHO guidelinesWorld Health Organization Guidelines
- EpistemonikosEpistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.
Epistemonikos est une base de données collaborative et multilingue de santé, basée sur les évidences, source de revues systématiques pertinentes pour la prise de décision en matière de santé, et d'autres types de preuves scientifiques. - Guideline Central - Guideline SummariesGuideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible.
Searching for guidelines
DynaMed
- DynaMed » This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is the clinical reference tool that physicians go to for answers to clinical questions. Written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. DynaMed Plus topics are always based on clinical evidence and the content is updated multiple times each day to ensure physicians have the information they need to make decisions at the point of care. Images, Calculators, Guidelines, Patient education pamphlets are also available.
DynaMed is a Point-of-Care, medical information database with nearly 2,000 clinical topic summaries that provides the best available evidence. Updated daily.
Tips:
- Search for your topic/subject in the box
- Select “Guidelines and resources”, in the list at the left to see all the Guidelines, organized by country.
TRIP
- TRIP: Turning Research into Practice » This link opens in a new windowIdentifies and links to evidence based material from a variety of English-language sources such as peer-reviewed journals, etexts, images, and patient information.
Tips:
- Search for your subject with the search box or the Advance search or the PICO search tool
- Then use the Refine category (at the right) to select the Evidence type that you’re looking for : “Guidelines” are presented by country
Lippincott Advisory
- Lippincott Advisor » This link opens in a new windowLippincott Advisor is a collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care. The program allows users to identify the information they need quickly and easily. Nurses can browse by topic or category, scroll through alphabetical lists of monographs, or perform a search to identify a particular monograph. Each entry includes extensive cross-reference hypertext links between and within content sets.
Tips:
- Consult/browse the list provided in the section "Clinical Guideline Summaries"
- or search for your topic in the box at the top
MedLine/Pubmed
- Medline (Ovid) » This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
- PubMed (Medline) » This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Tips:
- Search your topic ou subject in the title/abstract (.ti,ab. [Title/Abstract])
- Limit the search using the filter "Publication type": "Guideline" or "Practice guideline"
CINAHL
- CINAHL (EBSCO) » This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Tips:
- Search for your subject
- Search for the Subject Term (Subject Heading) = “Practice Guideline”
- Combine the sets with AND
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database » This link opens in a new windowThe Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised health care evidence, including 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Covered subjects: Nursing care, medical care.
Tips:
- Search for your subject with the search box
- Limit your search by selecting “Recommended practice” in the Publication types list (blue box)
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database » This link opens in a new windowThe Physiotherapy Evidence Database, produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
Tips:
- Use the form in the Advanced Search page
- Indicate your topic/ subject in the appropriate field and select Practice Guideline in the box Method
Grey literature
- Grey Matters: a practical tool for searching health-related grey literatureCADTH - Use the word document to explore, record and evaluate your research in the list of organizations that produce guidelines (page 19-20).
Citations ? References ? Bibliographies ?
Citation Style
Citing could be tricky ! Please take a look on these resources to understand/learn how to cite:
- Research for Essay Writing in English: Citing your sources (APA, MLA, Chicago)
- Research for Technical Report Writing: Citing your sources (APA, MLA)
- For French adaptation of citations style, consult "Recherche pour rédaction des travaux universitaires en français" : Citer vos sources (APA, MLA, Chicago et Francisation...)
Citation Managers: your student life savers !!
See the libguide Citation Management for overview of the products. These documents give you step-by-step instructions to the main functions of various citation managers, such as: Creating an account; Creating folders; Exporting references; Removing duplicates; Creating a bibliography and more...
COVID-19 guidelines
Gouvernment of Canada
Infection prevention and control
- Infection prevention and control for COVID-19: Interim guidance for outpatient and ambulatory care settings
- Infection prevention and control for COVID-19: Second interim guidance for acute healthcare settings
- Infection prevention and control for COVID-19: Interim guidance for long-term care homes
- Infection prevention and control for COVID-19: Interim guidance for home care settings
- Strategies to be considered if a shortage of isolation gowns occurs in a healthcare setting
Information from professional groups
- CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (EN)his database contains approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada.
- COVID-19: Information for PharmacistsFrom the Canadian Pharmacists Association / Association des pharmaciens du Canada
- CEP: Evidence-based resources for Ontario providersThe Centre for Effective Practice (CEP) is dedicated to providing physicians and nurse practitioners in Ontario and across Canada with a curated selection of best-available advice and point-of-care resources on COVID-19
- COVID-19: Interim guidance for acute healthcare settingsPublic Health: Infection prevention and control for coronavirus disease (COVID-19): Interim guidance for acute healthcare settings
- COVID-19 updates and informationCenter of resources for health professionals.
More resources on COVID-19
- COVID-19Resources to explore !
Reliability and quality of information
Identify quality information
Finding trustworthy information
1)
Use our validated and evaluated resources such as our databases: Medline, CINAHL, Nursing and Allied Health Database , DynaMed, or our collections of e-books,
Consult our specialized research libguides, e.g. Medicine, Nursing, for databases and book collections. List of research libguides by specialties.
2)
Use the reputable resources available that cover different angles of health problems:
- the public services: Federal government, provincial governments, municipal...
- the recognized associations or by health professionals
- the official data, such as health statistics, or general stats
3)
If you find information on the Internet or through any resource and are in doubt, use the guides provided in the "Evaluating Sources and Resources" or "Verifying the Facts" box below to validate the information, facts or statements!
Good research !!
Evaluating Sources and Resources in Health
Assessing health care resources
Online Health Information Aid - McGill University
- Online Health Information Aid provides tips and resources on searching, evaluating, and using online health information. Please take a look on the section for COVID-19.
- COVID-19 : On this page dedicated to COVID-19, you will find selected resources for navigating and understanding the information related to the pandemic.
COVID-19 Myths and misinformation - University of Toronto
- Learn more on : Fact / Fiction, Misinformation, How can I spot misinformation about the coronavirus and COVID-19... and more
- Explore the pages and documents proposed by the University of Toronto.
Medline
- Evaluating Health Information : Tutorial
- Online health information - what can you trust? See the list "MedlinePlus Evaluating Internet Health Information: Checklist"
Fiabilité de l'information : Évaluer le contenu en ligne (in French)
- Page de synthèse réalisée par les Bibliothèques des sciences de la santé, Université de Montréal: 1. Qualité et validité du contenu; 2. Autorité de la source; 3. Mise à jour; 4. Facilité d'utilisation
Evaluating clinical guidelines: you can use one of these tools.
- From CADTH, Critical Appraisal of Clinical Practice Guidelines
- "Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation (AGREE) ". For more information, check out their resources.
Evaluating the sources of Grey Literature, two tests are commonly used:
- The CRAAP Test : Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose
- The CARS checklist: Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, Support
Myth Busters
Myths ? Misinformation ?? Disinformation ?
- To learn more on Misinformation/disinformation, its impacts on research, see the new libguide from uO : COVID-19 Misinformation Toolkit
World Health Organization
- Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public: Mythbusters
- Navigate in the list of topics
COVID-19 Pandemic Wikipedia page
COVID-19 Myths and misinformation - University of Toronto
- Learn more on : Fact / Fiction, Misinformation, How can I spot misinformation about the coronavirus and COVID-19... et plus
- Explore the pages and documents proposed by the University of Toronto.
Online Health Information Aid - McGill University
- Online Health Information Aid provides tips and resources on searching, evaluating, and using online health information. Please take a look on the section for COVID-19.
- COVID-19 : On this page dedicated to COVID-19, you will find selected resources for navigating and understanding the information related to the pandemic.
COVID19MisInfo.org Portal
- Are These COVID-19 Claims True or False? Consult the Portal !! The COVID19MisInfo.org Portal is a rapid response project of the Ryerson Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management.
Checking the facts
Here are some resources you can consult to better verify the quality of the information you have found :
- Détecteur de rumeurs (French)
- Disinformation [Webinaire]
- FactCan -- Canada's Political Fact-checker
- FactCheck.org
- PolitiFact & Truth-O-Meter
- Snopes
- Verification Handbook
- Global fact-checking sites
- Journalist's Toolbox
Self-Learning Videos
Didacticiels / Tutorials
*** Nouveau **** New ****
Bienvenue aux Ateliers sur demande | Instant Workshops, petits cours gratuits et libres en compétences numériques au niveau de l’enseignement supérieur, tant en français qu’en anglais. Exemple de contenu:
- Lier Google Scholar à la bibliothèque de votre établissement
- Les Infographies
- Gestionnaire de mots de passe
- Identifier le contenu évalué par les pairs
- et plus...
Welcome to Ateliers sur demande | Instant Workshops, free and open short lessons on digital skills for higher education in French and English. Here some presentations:
- Blockers for Online Ads and Data Collection
- Infographics
- Linking Google Scholar to Your Institution’s Library
- Identifying Peer-Reviewed Content
- and more...
Self-Learning
-
Online course
Cochrane Interactive Learning
Cochrane Interactive Learning is a series of self-directed learning modules aimed at educating on the systematic review process.
To access the series the first time, you will need to follow important instructions first, see below.
-
Cochrane Interactive Learning: Instructions on How to Connect (PDF)Please follow these detailed steps to access Cochrane Interactive Learning the first time.
Other libguides...
Also consult...
- Indigenous Health ResourcesExcellent list of resources proposed by the Faculty of Medicine
NSG 5610
Trouvez votre information
Trouver des informations dignes de confiance
1)
Utilisez nos ressources validées et évaluer comme les bases de données: DynaMed, CINAHL, Nursing and Allied Health Database , Medline et autres
Voyez le guide de recherche des Sciences infirmières pour les bases de données et pour les collections de livrels.
2)
Utilisez les ressources réputées disponibles qui couvrent différents angles des problèmes de santé:
- les services publiques: gouvernement fédéral, gouvernements provinciaux...
- les associations reconnues ou par des professionnels de la santé
- les données officielles, comme les statistiques sur la santé, ou stats en général
3)
Si vous trouvez des informations sur internet ou à travers n'importe quelle ressource et que vous avez un doute, utilisez les guides proposés dans la boite "Évaluation des sources et des ressources" pour valider les faits et les dires !
Bonnes recherches !!
Documents de référence
Évaluation des sources et des ressources
Évaluer des ressources dans le domaine de la santé
- Aide informationelle en ligne sur la santé McGIll University. Aide informationnelle en ligne sur la santé (AILeS) propose des astuces et des ressources associées à la recherche, l’évaluation et l’utilisation de l’information en santé offerte sur le Web.
- Aide à l'évaluation: Guide des éléments à regarder de près pour juger de vos sources.
-
Fiabilité de l'information : Évaluer le contenu en ligne : Page de synthèse réalisée par les Bibliothèques des sciences de la santé, Université de Montréal: 1. Qualité et validité du contenu; 2. Autorité de la source; 3. Mise à jour; 4. Facilité d'utilisation
-
How can I spot misinformation about the coronavirus and COVID-19? Page crée par l'Université de Toronto présentant une démarche à suivre pour identifier des infox, et fournissant une liste de ressources pour vérifier les faits.
- Medline - en anglais (ou espagnol)
- Evaluating Health Information : Vous pouvez apprendre via leur tutoriel
- Online health information - what can you trust? Utiliser aussi leur liste "MedlinePlus Evaluating Internet Health Information: Checklist"
Évaluer des directives cliniques: vous pouvez utiliser les grilles d'évaluation:
- de l'ACMTS, consultez les documents d'évaluation critique des lignes directrices en pratique clinique
- "Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation (AGREE) ". Pour plus de renseignements, consultez leurs ressources et traductions.
Évaluer les sources de la Littérature grise, deux tests sont communément utilisés:
- le CRAAP Test (en anglais) qui devient le APAEB : Actualité ; Pertinence ; Autorité ; Exactitude ; But
- le CARS Test (toujours en anglais) qui devient CPRS: Crédibilité ; Précision ; Raisonnabilité ;Support
Lutter contre les mythes (Mésinformation / Désinformation)
Mythe ? Mésinformation ? Désinformation ?
Pour apprendre plus sur ces termes et leur impacts sur la recherche, consultez notre nouveau guide de recherche de l'Université d'Ottawa: La boîte à outils de la désinformation COVID-19
Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS)
- Nouveau coronavirus (2019-nCoV) : conseils au grand public - En finir avec les idées reçues
- Explorez les différents sujets identifiés
Page Wikipédia sur la Pandémie COVID-19
COVID-19 Myths and misinformation - University of Toronto
- Pour apprendre plus sur : Fact / Fiction, Misinformation, How can I spot misinformation about the coronavirus and COVID-19... et plus
- Explorez les pages et documents proposés par l'University of Toronto. (Anglais)
Aide informationelle en ligne sur la santé McGIll University
- Aide informationnelle en ligne sur la santé (AILeS) propose des astuces et des ressources associées à la recherche, l’évaluation et l’utilisation de l’information en santé offerte sur le Web. Voyez particulièrement les pages d’aide à l’évaluation et sur le COVID-19
- COVID-19 : cette page est dédiée à la COVID-19, vous trouverez une sélection de ressources visant à vous aider à vous orienter et à comprendre les informations relatives à la pandémie.
COVID19MisInfo.org Portal
- Are These COVID-19 Claims True or False? Consult the Portal !! The COVID19MisInfo.org Portal is a rapid response project of the Ryerson Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management.
Contact
Bibliothécaire / Librarian
Don't hesitate to book an appt for assistance (on-site and virtual options available).
Have a great day !
Excellente journée !
Courriel / email :
mdomecq@uottawa.ca
About this libguide...
This online guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. This guide is attributed to Marie-Cécile Domecq
The page Self-Leaning Video is attributed to Karine Fournier under the licence CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the guide does not address, please e-mail Marie-Cécile Domecq at mdomecq@uottawa.ca