Key Databases for Mathematics and Statistics
These research databases will find mathematical journal articles, conference proceedings papers, and monograph series (like Lecture Notes). They will also find some single books (like textbooks), but not all.
See below for tips on searching with MathSciNet. You can also email me for help at any time.
- MathSciNet » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAn index of about 3 million articles, conference papers and books in mathematics from the early 20th century to present, provided by the American Mathematical Society. The database also includes reviews and summaries of some articles.
- SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowScopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.
Unlike the three tools above, arXiV includes preprints posted by the authors themselves, without a peer-review process. It is now widely used in areas like computer science.
- arXiv.orgOpen access to over 1 million preprints (draft papers) in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
How to search MathSciNet more effectively
If you are not finding good results with MathSciNet, you can adjust the default search options. In addition to the article titles, you can search the review summary (similar to an abstract, usually written by another mathematician) by choosing 'review text' as the search parameter. This will find more articles than just searching the title alone.
Every item in MathSciNet is also categorized into a field of math using the MSC Classification (you can browse or search the classification here).You can restrict your search to a broad field by entering a 2-digit code (for example, 13 for commutative algebra) or to a more narrow topic by entering a 3- or 5-digit code (for example, 13H05 for regular local rings). This can help if you are finding lots of results from areas you aren't interested in.
Looking for a journal to submit to? You can use MathSciNet's journal search to get data on potential targets, including their citation rates, subject areas of recent papers, top authors, and even a list of related journals. You can find more info on journal and author profiles here.
Other Databases in Mathematics and Statistics
- zbMath (Zentralblatt MATH)This database indexes about 3 million articles in mathematics drawn from about 5,000 periodicals from 1868 to the present. It includes its own reviews of many articles. Note: uOttawa has limited access to zbMath. Only the first three search results are returned.
- Jahrbuch DatabaseA database of historical mathematics articles which appeared in the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942), one of the first major mathematics indexes. The articles have been coded according to the modern MSC classification.
Databases in Related Subjects
- ACM Digital Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information, abstract and full-text articles and conference proceedings published by ACM(Association for Computing Machinery) and ACM affiliated organisations.
- IEEE Xplore » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMaximum simultaneous users: 50. Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Includes full text published since 1988 (and partial content published since 1913) from IEEE journals, standards, transactions, conference proceedings as well as IET journals and conference proceedings.
I found an article, where's the full text?
If an article has been published in a journal, we don't necessarily have the full text. Try these steps:
