What are standards?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose. International standards ensure that products and services are safe, reliable and of good quality.
Source: ISO Standards
The costs associated with the development, publication, and distribution of standards are significant expenses, which is why standards organizations do not provide access to standards for free. In addition, there are copyright restrictions on standards that typically prohibit users from copying, printing, or reproducing any part of the document. These restrictions can make it difficult for libraries to provide access to standards.
Sources: Telecommunications Industry Association Standards Education and Resources
How to best use IEC and ISO Standards: a user guide on licensing options and respecting copyright
- ANSI - FAQWhat is a standard?
Why are standards important?
How are standards created?
Who creates standards?
What is conformity assessment?
How is compliance with standards verified?
Library subscriptions to Standards (ASABE, ASCE, ASTM, IEEE)
- ASABE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) publishes over 1,500 information resources each year, including technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards. The target audience for ASABE publications includes: engineers, scientists, researchers, material or system designers and other agri-business users. ASABE also publishes a series of books on agricultural equipment history.
- ASCE Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowASCE Research Library provides access to its online journals since 1995 and all ASCE conference papers published from 2003 to the present, with some titles published from 1998.
- ASTM Compass Standards Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowStandards set by ASTM International. Access to the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL), which includes all the active ASTM standards plus historical, withdrawn, and redlined standards. ASTM Compass also includes journals, conferences, ebooks and papers, dating back as 1932.
- IEEE Xplore StandardsStandards in the topics of Aerospace, Bioengineering, Communication, Networking & Broadcasting, Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems, Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software), Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas, Engineering Profession, Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics, General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering), Geoscience, Nuclear Engineering, Photonics & Electro-Optics, Power, Energy, & Industry Applications, Robotics & Control Systems, Signal Processing & Analysis, Transportation.
- TechStreet a varied collection of standardsA subscription including a few online standards from CSA, AASHTO & ASHRAE (the titles in this collection may vary from year to year). You must install FileOpen to view documents from TechStreet.
- Looking for a standard published by the CGSB National Standard of Canada?The Library may have a copy available for consultation. To find these, consult the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB) Catalogue and write down the # and title of the standards. Then perform a search in Omni. Note that some CGSB standards are shelved at Government Pubs - MRT 3th floor under a call # begining with CA1 P27 followed by the CGSB number such as 12.20-M89.
Free Access to Standards
Some standards organizations make access to their standards for viewing or download available for no cost.
- Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their StandardsNational Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Buy Standards
- Standards Council of CanadaThe Standards Council of Canada (SCC) leads and facilitates the development and use of national and international standards and accreditation services.
- CSA Group - Online StoreCSA Store offers the most comprehensive selection of CSA Group’s more than 3,000 published standards & codes in a variety of formats, including printed and electronic versions.
- ANSI Standards StoreThe American National Standards Institute also provides the NSSN: search engine for standards
- ISO StoreISO has over 19 500 International Standards covering almost all aspects of technology and business.