Find Market Research reports - Digital Transformation and Innovation DTI - Guides de recherche

Market Reports

IBISWorld » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides hundreds of in-depth Canadian, U.S. and Global industry market research and business environment reports.

Gartner reports
Gartner is a well-known consulting firm providing analysis on the IT sector through their Magic Quadrant and Hype Cycle reports. Access is restricted to the Faculties of Engineering and Management.
GlobalEdge
Find information on 20 industrial sectors in international business by clicking on "Global Insights" and then "By Industry".

Industry Statistics

Canada-specific

Canadian Industry Statistics
Analyses industry data on the number of establishments, gross domestic product and labour productivity for industry sectors belonging to the Canadian Economy using a few of the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada.
Statistics Canada data
Find reliable and timely statistics about Canada and its ever-changing people.
Canadian Business Counts
Provides counts of active businesses by industry (NAICS) classification and employment-size categories for Canada and the provinces and territories

E-Data (Conference Board of Canada) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
E-Data from the Conference Board of Canada contains seven economic intelligence databases. Long-term economic forecasts are provided for Canada (540 indicators) and the Provinces (1500 indicators), and short-term economic forecasts provided for Canada (economic and financial by industry back as far as 1987), the Provinces, the Territories (90 indicators), 27 Metropolitan areas and the United States (both 100 indicators).
In addition, e-Data contains the quarterly Consumer Confidence and Business Confidence Indexes, as well as Population and Household Formation forecasts (back to 1975, by gender and 5-year age groups, 700 indicators). E-Data also provides valuable retrospective macro-economic "estimates", often resulting in longer historical time-series than on Cansim.

Global

Statista
Collects a wide variety of business statistical charts and tables, sourced from open data or other companies. Note: Always note the original source listed on Statista, and follow the link if available.

OECD.Stat » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Access OECD’s comprehensive statistical service, providing cross-database searching and comparisons, table merging and customization, and downloading of statistical tables and metadata.
Passport GMID » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
View statistics for various consumer industries, globally or by country.

Finding reports from NGOs, think tanks, consulting firms

There is useful sector analysis on the internet - unfortunately it's buried within lots of useless info! There are a couple tricks you can try on Google

Searching specific websites - if you want to find reports written by specific firms (management consultants like EY or Boston), search only their websites. Add 'site:(ey.com OR bcg.com OR....)' to your search. If you want to search think tank websites, you can use this search tool from Harvard. Remember you'll only be getting a limited perspective this way.

Search for any PDF file - usually a meaningful report is published as a PDF file, so you can search only these by adding 'filetype:PDF' to your search.

SIC/NAICS codes

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code number was established in order to promote the comparability of statistics. The SIC code has been revised over the years and some code numbers have changed.

It is important to be careful when comparing data from different publishers and over a long period of time. Beginning with the 1997 Economic Census, the Census Bureau began using a new North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) (pronounced "nakes") which is more closely aligned with international codes.

Many commercial publications have converted to NAICS, but some still use SIC codes.

Use the websites below to find SIC or NAICS codes for a particular industry. Also, many company profiles provide the SIC and/or NAICS code for the industry or industries a particular company belongs to. Learn more about using NAICS codes.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search
Find descriptions of the different codes on this site.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS 2007)
Find the U.S. descriptions of the different codes on this site.
North American Industry Classification System Canada - 2017
NAICS Canada 2017 replaces NAICS Canada 2012. The changes brought to NAICS for the 2017 version were made to account for the changing economies of Canada, the United States and Mexico. The revisions were minor in nature and occurred at the lower levels of the classification. Among the most notable changes are those relating to oil and gas extraction, telecommunications, and arts and sports.
Bridge Between SIC and NAICS: Correspondence Tables
Locate the bridge codes on this site. In the 1997 Economic Census, the U.S. Census Bureau began providing a bridge between the SIC codes and the NAICS.