Finding theses
If you are looking for theses in particular, please explore this link which will enable you to see what has been published on a given subject here at the University of Ottawa and abroad. Still haven't found what you are looking for ? Don't hesitate to contact the reference service or your subject librarian.
New database : Open Access Theses and Dissertations. This tool will facilitate your finding theses in open access.
Tips on how to search the library catalogue
When browsing for material, a keyword search is usually a good way to start. But for more precise results, once you start to identify subject headings used to describe the content of the item (for example, subjects, descriptors, tags...), focus on those instead.
Do not hesitate to contact the library's Reference Service directly.
Suggested Reading
Research methods for education by Call Number: LB 1028 .N46 2014ISBN: 0273775103Publication Date: 2014
The role of participants in education research : ethics, epistemologies, and methods by Call Number: LB 1028 .R54 2013ISBN: 0415636280Publication Date: 2013
Electronic books
The Library has a growing collection of e-books in nearly all subjects by many different publishers. These can be reference works for quick verification, such as encyclopedias; research books written for an academic audience; or textbooks used by professors in classroom teaching.
The various e-book databases provide such features as: searching the full content of one or multiple books simultaneously; highlighting text; adding personal notes and creating one’s own bookshelf; downloading content; linking out to cited content; and exporting references to RefWorks
- Search the catalogue (by keyword, title, or subject). Choose Modify or Limit/Sort Search. Select Material Type: EBOOKS.
- When browsing a list of titles, regardless of the material type, look for [electronic resource], [ressource électronique] in the title. These phrases can also be used when performing a Keyword search.
- To access Electronic Resources, click on the hyperlink provided under Electronic Access in the complete reference.
Have a look at the new guide for electronic resources. In it, you will find that you have to consult each collection separately since it is impossible to offer access to all of them from one single platform.
Where to search
- AmicusSearch to see what other institutions in Canada might have the item you're looking for.
- AnnexFor items held at the Annex, click on Place a Hold and provide the information required. In most cases, an item requested from the Annex can be accessed within 24 hours or less. The item will be sent to the Circulation desk, and you will receive an e-mail informing you it's being held for you. You will have more facility if you use the classic catalogue.
- Carleton University catalogueTo locate material not owned by the library or for items currently out, search the Carleton University catalogue. As a University of Ottawa student, you can borrow from the collections of Carleton and other university libraries.
- Library CatalogueTo locate material in the library's collections, in any format, start your search here. When you have found an item of interest, check its availability, call #, and location (e.g. whether at Morisset, or at the FERC in the Lamoureux building). Please note that Morisset library uses the Library of Congress classification system whereas the FERC uses the Dewey classification.
- OAIsterOIAster is a worldwide repository of open access harvested publications given voluntarily by the institutions. The repository contains a variety of free, downloadable documents including theses.
- RacerTo get the item you are looking for, you might have to use the inter-library loan service via Racer. There is no fee for this service but you have to create an account before you use it.
- Sm@rtLibraryAllows a search in the collections of our Sm@rtLibrary partners.
- WorldCatSearch to see what other institutions around the world might have what you're looking for. You may find the book you are looking for at a library near you!
Books at the Annex or at Roger Guindon Hall
If the document you need happens to be at the Annex or at Roger Guindon Hall, here's how to get it:
When you find a document located at the Annex or at Roger Guindon Hall, these documents are located away from the main campus. In both cases, as an Education student, you can have them delivered to the location of your choice, you don't have to go to that location. For all other libraries, you are expected to go and get the document since the other libraries are at a walking distance.
Here are the steps for 1) getting documents from the Annex:
For documents located at the Annex, you can request them electronically using the interface of the library catalogue:
1) Do your research on the library catalogue page; for example, you are looking for the video "Islands in the stream";
2) When you find the title you need in the catalogue, click on the title, in this case, the video is the second entry;
3) When you click on the title of the second entry, it opens a window;
4) Then, click on locations;
5) Finally, click on Library Annex, a new window opens in the classic catalogue and you have access to the "Request" or "Book this item" buttons. When you click on them, you will be prompted to fill out a form asking your name, your barcode and your date of birth.
You are now ready to request it and have it delivered at the Morisset library or the Faculty of Education Resource Centre (FERC).
Here's how you can get documents from 2) Roger Guindon Hall:
For documents you need located at the Roger Guindon Hall, you can ask them at the FERC's circulation desk or the Morisset Circulation desk depending on where you prefer to pick them up. Your request will be processed.
