Asian Studies - Modern Languages and Literatures - Guides de recherche

Selection of Dictionaries

Dictionary of Chinese Characters: Accessed by Phonetics
Online
Oxford Chinese dictionary: English-Chinese - Chinese English
Call number: PL 1455 .O88 2010 [Morisset 1st floor]
500 Common Chinese Idioms
Online
Collins Mandarin Chinese Dictionary
Call number: PL 1455 .C654 2012 [Morisset 4th floor]
Cultural Dictionary of the Chinese Language: 500 Proverbs, Idioms and Maxims
Online
Thematic Dictionary of Contemporary Chinese
Online

A Frequency Dictionary of Japanese: Core Vocabulary for Learners
Online
Tuttle Concise Japanese Dictionary: Japanese-English English-Japanese
Online
Kodansha's Furigana Japanese Dictionary: Japanese-English, English-Japanese
Call number: PL 679 .Y67 2012 [Morisset 1st floor]

Asian Business & Reference
Asian business and financial information from nearly 100 key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review and Asiaweek.
China Academic Journals Full-Text Database
A multidisciplinary database of Chinese journals that can be searched in English and Chinese. We have full-text access to journals relating to politics, military affairs, law, economics and management.
Chinese Studies
Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies feature articles pertaining to the study of China across all disciplines.

China, America and the Pacific
A range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Chinese Pamphlets: Political Communication and Mass Education
Pamphlets, picture books, comic books, leaflets and other ephemera issued during the early years of the People's Republic of China, between 1947 and 1954.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Asia and the West
A range of primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century.
China, Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic.
China: Culture and Society
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this database contains pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Access to all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, 1919-1980.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.

This research guide by Téa Rokolj is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0