Databases
Before you start your research, you might wish to consult the UNBIS Thesaurus to look up subject headings and terminology.
The most useful tool below will depend on how you are performing your search - click here for more info. (FAQ of UN's Dag Hammaskjöld Library)
- United Nations Digital Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, key UN publications series, and landmark collections, such as the Index to Proceedings (ITPs), and Oral History interviews.
- The Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)Access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Excluded are press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series and information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.
- United Nations Enterprise SearchSearches various UN databases (including the ODS), as well as UN social media and over 100 UN websites.
- United Nations Treaty Collection OnlineFull text of all bilateral and multilateral treaties and international agreements. Also includes the status of treaties, including signatories, ratifications, and lodged declarations, reservations or objections, etc.
- AccessUNAccess to UN publications and documents, including articles from UN periodicals. Indexed in this database are documents from six main UN bodies, official records, masthead documents, sales publications, conferences etc.
- Universal Human Rights IndexAccess to country-specific human rights information emanating from international human rights mechanisms in the United Nations system: the Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR).
- World Treaty LibraryBrings together works identified from Oceana's Consolidated Treaty Series, Hein's U.S. Treaty Index, Rohn's World Treaty Index, Dumont, Wiktor, Martens, the League of Nations, and the United Nations Treaty Series, covering the time period from 1648 to the present.
Reference Books in Our Collection
Basic Facts about the United Nations [Electronic book]
Yearbook of the United Nations [Print and Electronic]
Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations [Electronic book]
Oxford Handbook of the United Nations [Electronic book]
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations [Electronic book]
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements Call number: MRT Ref KZ 4968 .O8413 2003
Les Nations Unies aujourd'hui Call number: GSG Ref JZ 4984.5 .N365 2008
Historical Dictionary of Multinational Peacekeeping [Electronic book]
Statistics
- UNdata » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowComprehensive international statistical database covering all countries and all areas. Includes more than 300 time series, with many disaggregated to show underlying distributions. Information is from numerous international data sources
Related Research Guides
Structure of the UN
Older UN Documents
If the official documents that you need are not available in electronic format, please check the print collection on the 3rd floor of the Morisset library (Call number: UN2...) or the Mircroform collection (1946-1970) via AccessUN database.
To learn more about document symbols and the classification of UN official documents, please consult the UN Research Guide.
