Where to Start?
Listed below are some databases that provide annual reports for various companies. Consult the Company Information research guide to find additional databases providing company filings.
- SEDAR Canadian Company Information » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFind out more on this official site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
- EDGAR Database of Corporate Information Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowSeek in the U.S. Security & Exchange Commission's database, EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval), which provides free access to 10-Ks, 10-Qs, proxies, prospectuses and other documents.
Company Financials
- Factiva » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowBrowse through profiles and financials on most public companies in the U.S. and some international companies. Limited information on private companies. Select "Companies/Markets", click on "Company" and enter the company name or ticker symbol.
- S&P Capital IQ » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis database combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Financial statements are available. Users must create their own account following the instructions at the link above; afterwards, access is through capitaliq.com.
- FactSet » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFactSet provides information for monitoring global markets, public and private companies, and equity and fixed income assets. Financial statements are available to export. Users must create their own account following the instructions at the link above; afterwards, access is through factset.com.
Recommended Books
Financial Statement Analysis by Publication Date: 2022
The Story Underlying the Numbers by Publication Date: 2018
Reading Between the Lines of Corporate Financial Reports by Publication Date: 2020
Canadian Government - Annual Reports
- Government-wide reporting on spending and operationsFind out about the government’s spending and revenue performance over the previous fiscal year, and the factors affecting these results.
- Results-based Planning Report - Ontario Ministry of FinanceAccess these annual reports of Ministry of Finance and other Government of Ontario Ministries.
- Accountability and Transparency – City of OttawaRead accountability and auditing reports provided by the City of Ottawa. Citizens and businesses want to know how the City sets priorities for delivery of services, programs and infrastructure.