Key databases
- Social Services Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles on mental health, emergency interventions, family and social assistance, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, violence, abuse and more.
- APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIncludes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and government reports in psychology and related disciplines.
- CINAHL (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature dealing with nursing and allied health.
Related subject databases
The following databases provide access to content in related fields such as education, gender studies, allied heath and more:
- AARP Ageline » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature dealing with the population aged 50+.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowContains references to articles and other documents about North American indigenous populations.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of articles and other documents focused on criminology and related disciplines.
- ERIC (PROQUEST Platform) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers research documents, articles, technical reports, program evaluations and curricular materials in the field of education.
- GenderWatch » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowFocuses on gender issues across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- PTSDpubs » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to international literature on PTSD and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
- Sociological Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers literature from more than 1800 journals in sociology.
Consult the Library's Databases A-Z list for a complete list of available resources.
Related multidisciplinary databases
The following databases provide wide subject coverage across many disciplines:
- Academic Search Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, magazines and newspapers from many subject areas.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective : 1907-1984 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers the humanities and social sciences literature from from 1907 to 1984.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides references to journals, book chapters, books and reviews in the social sciences dating back to 1951.
- SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers scientific, technical and medical literature.
- Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowCovers key journals in various fields including medicine and social sciences.
French-language databases
The following multidisciplinary databases index journals and magazines published in French:
- CAIRN.INFO » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles and other documents in French from the humanities and social sciences.
- Erudit » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access to French-language journals across many disciplines including the social sciences.
- Eureka.cc » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowProvides access primarily to current events sources such as magazines and newspapers.
- OpenEdition JournalsIncludes more than 450 journals and other documents in French that are openly available.
- Prisme - Réseau documentaire en sciences et action socialesIndexes French-language articles from relevant social work and social sciences journals.
Intro to
library research
Consult the Social Sciences - An Introduction to Library Research guide to learn how to choose a topic, prepare a search and cite sources.
Google Scholar
Open access
Research published in open access enables anyone anywhere to access scholarly content.
