What are online exhibits?
- Online exhibitions, also known as digital exhibitions, involves curating, digitizing and displaying objects in an online setting. This process is very similar to museums displaying their collections online.
- There are several software applications that are open-source (i.e. free to use the original program's code and modify without copyright infringement), which allow smaller institutions to adapt the program to fit their own needs.
Omeka
Omeka provides web publishing platforms for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibitions.
The University of Ottawa Library works with researchers to integrate Omeka exhibits for research, in the classroom and provides a hosting service. This is done collaboratively on a case-by-case basis. For more information, please contact your subject librarian.
-
Please consult the Terms of Service for uOttawa Library hosted Omeka sites.
Showcase of Omeka projects at uOttawa
Shakespeare in Canada: A Cultural Map
A project to create an online interactive cultural map of the presence of the Bard and the way in which his works have shaped Canadian culture.
Christina Rossetti in Music Project
A catalogue and digital archive of musical settings of the writings of Christina Rossetti.
Digital Museum Seminar
Pages, projects, exhibits and items that are part of a collection-based seminar at the University of Ottawa in conjunction with Ingenium: Canada's Museums of Science and Innovation.
Digital History
Features projects students have undertaken in a diversity of history courses with Professor McCutcheon and with the support of teaching partners and digital scholarship colleagues at the library.
R. Murray Schafer 360˚
Students in the Advanced Research in Music course sift through Schafer’s manuscripts and catalogue their archival findings. They then use these items to create interactive, digital research projects, focusing on the life and works of R. Murray Schafer, while also celebrating his contributions to Canadian culture.
Silent Film Music in Canada
This project has developed from courses and research on silent film music conducted at the School of Music.
Iberian Lives in Baroque Rome
This pilot project seeks to be a resource for scholars and those interested in early modern Rome, Iberian culture and early modern migrations.
Recipro: The history of international and humanitarian aid
This initiative results from a partnership between the history departments of the University of Ottawa and Carleton University. Discover the history of transnational solidarity and humanitarian aid through teaching and learning activities, including resulting student projects.
windows and mirrors: diversity in books for young readers
Created in the winter of 2022 as the home of a class digital curation project for a course called "'We Need Diverse Books': Children's Texts as Art and Activism" offered by the Department of English at the University of Ottawa.
Additional resources
- CollectiveAccessCollectiveAccess is free, open-source software for describing all manner of things. Create catalogues that closely conform to your needs without custom programming.
- CollectionSpaceCollectionSpace is web-based, open-source collections management software for museums and more.
- Knight lab storytelling toolsThe Lab develops easy-to-use tools that can help you tell better stories. make information meaningful and promote quality journalism, storytelling and content on the internet.
- MukurtuMukurtu (MOOK-oo-too) is a free, mobile, and open source platform built with Indigenous communities to manage and share digital cultural heritage.
Studios, technology and multimedia equipment
Need a podcast recording studio, virtual reality equipment, a green screen or microphone, or want to learn about such technologies? The Library at the Learning Crossroads (CRX) offers all this and more. Learn more.
