Finding Books in the Library (Morisset)
The General Collection (Morisset Library): The Library's collection in English literature is located on the 4th floor of the Morisset Library. The Library uses the Library of Congress classification to organize its collections. Literature call numbers, the address of the book on the shelf, usually starts with the letters PN, PR or PS.
The graphic novel collection at the Morisset Library is located in the Media Centre on the main floor.
Books can also be stored at an off campus facility called the Library Annex. You can recall books from the Annex easily using the Library catalog.
Reading the Call Numbers (Resource Centre - Lamoureux Hall)
The children and young adult literature collections are located in clearly identified sections of the Resource Centre. Books are shelved according to age group for which the material is appropriate and by author. E is for children aged 0 to 10 and F for children aged 11 to 18. You will find books in both official languages on the shelves.
Comic books and graphic novels call numbers start with BD (bande dessinée). For more information about this collection, please visit the Comic Books and Graphic Novels Research Guide.
There is one exception to this shelving system: the fairytales. They are located near the children literature area and are catalogued using the 398 class of the Dewey Decimal System.
How to find books with OMNI
Go to OMNI advanced search screen
Under Resource Type select Books from the drop-down menu
Type keywords that describe your topic (e.g. Superhero, graphic novel)
Determine the book's availability and location
In the example below, the availability is shown in the green box
- The book's location is shown in the red box below
- If you see "available online", click on the link to access the book.
- For books that are in a library such as Morisset:, use the call number (in red box) to locate the book on the shelves.
 |
 |
The keyword search screen will allow you to create more complex searches combining fields such as keyword and subject to find results relevant to your topic. Some useful subjects for finding children's literature are: children's literature, juvenile fiction, children's stories, juvenile poetry, and folklore.
OMNI User Guide
Consult the OMNI User Guide for detailed information on the search interface and functions of the main search tool at uOttawa Ottawa Library.
Children Books Collections and Search Tools
- Canadian Children's Book CentreThe Canadian Children's Book Centre (CCBC) is a national, not-for-profit organization dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers.
- Children's Library (Internet Archive)Historical collection of digitized children books from Internet Archive
- ChildrensbookradioA podcast and Children’s Book Directory dedicated to sharing children’s books. Good teacher resource.
- Database of Award Winning Children BooksDatabase designed by a reference librarian at California State University.
- Diverse Book FinderCollection of picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC) is available to the public.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Children's Literature and Childhood Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowChildren's Literature and Childhood provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and much more.
- Osborne Collection of Early Children's BooksA world-leading research collection of rare and notable children’s books.
- TumbleBook Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThe TBL is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles,
