Articles in Art & Humanities - Medical Humanities - Guides de recherche

New resources

Music and Health
This guide was developed in support of the Music and Health Institute at the University of Ottawa.
The purpose of this guide is to help you identify resources and tools available at the University of Ottawa Library relevant to music and health research. It includes links to key music, health and multidisciplinary databases, journals, and reference books and other relevant resources and services.

Royal College of Physicians Archive » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The RCP archives contain an eclectic range of 14th- to 19th-century manuscripts. Personal papers of past fellows from the 16th century to the 20th century provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database giving archival access to scholarly journals and e-Books within the following areas: arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. Note that Jstor does not provide access to current issues.
Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

History of Medicine

History of Medicine
An integral part of the new Medicine and Humanities program, History of Medicine is experiencing a revival at uOttawa.
Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine
The Hannah Chair is named in honour of the charitable organization’s founder, a physician and medical administrator who recognised that a working knowledge of medicine’s history enriches both undergraduate medical education and health care delivery.
Osler Library of the History of Medicine
The Osler Library is a major resource centre for historical research in the health sciences and is the international centre for the study of Sir William Osler and the Oslerian tradition. The Osler Library of the History of Medicine opened in 1929 to house the collection of rare medical and other books donated by Sir William Osler, the renowned physician and McGill graduate and professor. Initially comprising 8000 titles listed in the Bibliotheca Osleriana, the collection - the finest of its kind in Canada - has grown to around 100,000 works including older, rare materials as well as current books and periodicals about the history of the health sciences and related areas.
Canadian Society for the History of Medicine
On 24 October 1950, fourteen people met at the invitation of the abbé Arthur Maheux in the Institut d’Histoire et de Géographie, of the Université Laval in Quebec City to form the Société Canadienne d’histoire de la médecine (SCHM). The Society and its journal are funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council [SSHRC] and by Associated Medical Services (AMS). The journal of the CSHM/SCHM is the Canadian Journal of Health History, a bilingual, peer-reviewed journal, with its own website

Royal College of Physicians Archive » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The RCP archives contain an eclectic range of 14th- to 19th-century manuscripts. Personal papers of past fellows from the 16th century to the 20th century provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians.
Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.

Toronto Medical Historical Club
The Toronto Medical Historical Club (TMHC) marked the 100th anniversary of the discovery of insulin (English only. En anglais)

Visual art & expression

Art Index Retrospective » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Maximum simultaneous users: 5. Art Index Retrospective includes citations to the Art Index (volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984). Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective provides reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Full Text (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text articles - as well as detailed indexing and abstracts - for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTstor » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
As well as hosting uOttawa's ever-growing image collections, ARTstor is a digital library of approximately one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Guide
Drama Online » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Drama Online is a digital library of plays from Aeschylus to the present day. It also includes critical analysis, contextual information, A-Z reference and practical texts.
Theatre in Video » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video provides access to more than 250 definitive performances of some of the greatest plays from the world repertoire, along with more than 100 documentaries on various aspects of theatre, online in streaming video. Covered are hundreds of leading playwrights, directors, famous actors and theatre companies.

Music

Naxos Music Library » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Offers online and remote access for simultaneous users to over 87,000 tracks of music. Entire works or single tracks provide access to various genres of music. Scholarly notes are available. Naxos has acquired the Canadian label Analekta which specializes in Canadian music.
Naxos Sheet Music » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library contains over 45,000 sheet music titles, provided by the largest online digital sheet music store FreeHandMusic.com. This collection allows users to access multiple types of scores across various composers, genres, and time periods. It contains full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, as well as piano reductions. One can easily download the music and print it.

Literature & Writing

Academic Search Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, it includes full text of journals, magazines, and newspapers.
JSTOR » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database giving archival access to scholarly journals and e-Books within the following areas: arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. Note that Jstor does not provide access to current issues.
Project Muse » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals and e-Books from 60 scholarly publishers.

Philosophy & Ethics

JSTOR » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database giving archival access to scholarly journals and e-Books within the following areas: arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. Note that Jstor does not provide access to current issues.
Année philologique » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Maximum d'usagers simultanés: 3. L'Année Philologique is an international annual index to research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity.
ATLA Religion Database & ATLAS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information for journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. The ATLA Religion Database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Bioethics Research Library

Society

Sociology Database » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
International coverage. Indexes journal articles from over 1800 journals. Includes abstracts from books, book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.
Education Source » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Education Source is intended for students in education as well as educational professionals and policymakers. The collection includes journals, books, and conference papers. Education Source also contains citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage spans all educational levels (early childhood to post-secondary) and includes information on sub-specialities such as health education, ESL and assessment and evaluation.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective : 1907-1984 » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson's International Index.