Religious Studies

The Aristoteles Latinus Database is the complete corpus of Latin translations of Aristotle.

The Library of Latin Texts is a primary source database of Latin literature from antiquity through the patristic age, the middle ages and ends in the neo-Latin period (ending in 1962). It includes the most significant Christian Latin texts such as Thomas Aquinas’ Summa theologiae, Summa contra Gentiles, and his commentary on the Sentences. It also includes texts important to the Reformation.

The collection Ut per litteras apostolicas is the electronic version of the series of papal registers and letters of the 13th and 14th centuries preserved in the Vatican Secret Archives in Rome. This series, edited since 1883 by the École française de Rome lately with the support of the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), now numbers some 80 printed volumes that reproduce the papal letters either by complete or partial transcriptions or by synopsis.

Migne's Patrologiæ Græcæ is a classic series of more than 160 volumes and remains the most comprehensive record of Greek patristic material in existence. N.B. Indices are now included in the database.

The Patrologia Latina is a full-text database covering the writings of the Church Fathers, from around 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. It contains works by the majority of Latin authors in the fields of theology, philosophy, history and literature

Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

Codex Sinaiticus is one of the most important books in the world. Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, the manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible and the manuscript – the oldest substantial book to survive Antiquity – is of supreme importance for the history of the book.

A digital corpus of late-antique Latin literary texts (from the second to the fifth century AD). Access to the database is free. The canon lists the critical editions on which the digital text is based; if the case, it also lists deviations from the critical text.

Including the New Testament, the Apocrypha, the Gnostic texts, and the writings of the Church Fathers.

This electronic edition includes the Ante-Nicene Fathers, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers. Some of the authors include: Irenaeus, Origen, Tertullian, St. Augustine, Jerome, Ambrose and Gregory the Great II.

Contains information on the parallel lives of fifteen buddhas: Dīpaṅkara, Sarvābhibhū, Padmottara, Atyuccagāmin, Yaśottara, Śākyamuni [I], Tiṣya, Vipaśyin, Śikhin, Viśvabhū, Krakucchanda, Konākamuni, Kāśyapa, Śākyamuni [II] (also known as Siddhartha Gautama), and Maitreya. The scroll gives the buddhas' predictions of Śākyamuni's future coming as the Buddha; his four courses of training under the other buddhas; their lifespans; eons in which they lived; social class into which they were born; their assemblies of disciples; and duration of their teachings.

Contains: Nag Hammadi Library, Classic Gnostic Scriptures, Valentinus & His Tradition, GRS Mead Collection, Patristic Polemical Works, Christian Apocrypha, Corpus Hermeticum, Manichaean Writings, Mandaean Writings, Cathar Writings, Alchemical Writings, Modern Gnostic Texts, Dead Sea Scrolls.

Maimonides' Code of Jewish Law, meant to collect disparate rulings and present them "succinctly and clearly so that the Oral Torah will be available to all" has been digitized by the Bodleian Library. It is a 12th century manuscript.

A digital library documenting the heritage of Panjab. Includes digitized images of manuscripts, books, newspapers and photographs.

Contains Greek and Roman texts, Duke's databank of documentary papyri, Arabic, Germanic and Renaissance materials. One of the most important online sources for historical and classical studies.

Read the words of St. Patrick in their original Latin, or in English, Gaeilge, italiano, deutsch, or português. See St Patrick's Confessio in the 'Book of Armagh' or in one of eight medieval manuscripts that have survived.

The Book of the Life of Jesus (Sefer Toledot Yeshu in Hebrew ) presents a chronicle of Jesus from a negative and anti-Christian perspective. Due to the offensive nature of the book, scholars have until recently paid little attention to Toledot Yeshu. In academic circles, the book has been all but dismissed as a reliable source for historical events. This database contains more than 100 manuscripts in Hebrew and Aramaic that enables comparisons of different versions and variant readings of Toledot Yeshu.

This digital library is comprised of collections of displayed papyrus images and texts at Oxford University. It includes the Antinoopolis Papyri, The Herculaneum Papyri, The Oxyrhynchus Papyri and the Supplementum Magicum.

Links to papyrological resources and a customized search engine (called the Papyrological Navigator) capable of retrieving information from multiple related sites.

Most of the papyri come from Oxyrhynchus and are an extremely interesting set of primary sources for the study of antiquity, in particular Ptolemaic and Roman Egypt.