Find Articles - Teacher education - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Search Help

Creating a Search Strategy (PDF version, 19.2 Ko)
This handout provides a step by step method for constructing a search strategy.
Strategy Worksheet (PDF version, 24.6 Ko)
Use this blank strategy worksheet to plan your next search.

Search

Catalogue
Databases (A-Z)
E-Journals (A-Z)
Electronic Journals available at the University of Ottawa pertaining to the field of Education
E-Books
Other Catalogues WorldCat
WorldCat is known as the catalogues of catalogues. Libraries across the world have voluntarily shared their collections.

Find Articles (Specialized Databases)

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This product includes all the content available in the Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) databases. Includes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters and newswires.
Education Source » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Education Source is intended for students in education as well as educational professionals and policymakers. The collection includes journals, books, and conference papers. Education Source also contains citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage spans all educational levels (early childhood to post-secondary) and includes information on sub-specialities such as health education, ESL and assessment and evaluation.
ERIC (PROQUEST Platform) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database produced by the U.S. Dept. of Education and other affiliated organizations. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) covers academic and professional literature in education as well as other related domains such as psychology and sociology.

Tips on how to get full-text of articles

Begin your search from the library homepage to ensure you are accessing resources via the proxy server. All e-journal access is controlled by IP recognition and the proxy server (especially when accessing the resources from off-campus) facilitates recognition.

Use the links to full-text found in some databases (ERIC, Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, etc…)The inability to get access to an article via the links provided in a database does not necessarily mean that full-text access is unavailable. Proceed to tips 3-5.
Check the E-Journals (A-Z) list for the title of the journal.
Check the Library Catalogue for the title of the journal.
Check the Publisher’s Website (you can usually find it using Google). You must be on campus or logged in from off-campus for this tip to be useful.
Please Contact the library if you discover that an e-journal link is not working. Access can often be restored in a very short period of time.

Afficher ! Get it!

“Get it!” is a library service which links database citations to full-text articles (if available) and other related resources available from the University of Ottawa Library.

Why use the “Get it!” button?

View the full-text of the article if the library has a subscription
Automatically search the library catalogue to see if the library has the journal or book
Access other library services (Ask a Question, ILL, etc)
Save and format the citation in RefWorks

How to find the full-text

Look for links such as HTML, PDF, full- text to access the article you want.
Use (when available as a button or a link) to see if you get closer to the full text.
Check the Ejournals (A-Z) list for the electronic version of the journal (we may not have earlier issues).
Double check the catalogue for either the print or electronic version of the journal you need.
If you need an article from a print volume/issue & the catalogue says Annex, you can use free article delivery to your email.
Order the article using the RACER (InterLibrary Loan) system at NO cost to you.