Find Articles - Nutrition - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

General Research Tips

Common database search operators

Quotation marks -- " "

e.g. "public health" (will retrieve documents that contain this exact phrase)

Boolean operators -- AND, OR, NOT

e.g. diabetes AND children (will retrieve documents that contain both keywords)

Truncation -- *

e.g. Canad* (will retrieve documents that contain Canada, Canadian, Canadians, canadien, etc.)

Wildcards -- ?

e.g. wom?n (will retrive documents that contain woman or women)

Please note that operators and search syntax may vary from database to database: consult specific database help pages for more information.

More search tips and tricks can be consulted in the boolean logic & search characters guide (linked below)

Choosing the best databases for your research project

On this page, you will find a selection of databases that can be used to locate articles on your research topic. Key databases in nutrition and health sciences have been listed.

Depending on your topic, you may want to consult resources in related subject areas such as medicine, human kinetics, sociology, psychology, etc.. Pertinent research guides have been listed in order to help you identify other potential databases. A full listing of all research guides can be located on the library's website.

Should you require any assistance, do not hesitate to contact your research librarian.

Key databases

Medline (Ovid) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
3rd-Party login is now mandatory.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This extensive specialized database covers scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition. It is managed by a team of expert scientists within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence.
EMBASE » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
CINAHL (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

Related Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, it includes full text of journals, magazines, and newspapers.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
This database includes conference papers and articles from key research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities. It also offers additional features that allow to discover the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.

Health Sciences Databases

AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine Database » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Limited concurrent users. The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
APA PsycInfo (OVID) Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and government reports in psychology and related disciplines.
Cochrane Library (OVID) Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care.
Global Health (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Maximum simultaneous users: 4. Produced by CABI, this database was created to ensure that key literature from all sources can be brought to the attention of those working in public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields.
SPORTDiscus » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Maximum simultaneous users: 10. International coverage. Indexes periodicals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and audiovisual material. Includes the North American dissertations and theses collection of the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance, University of Oregon, from 1949 to the present.
Morisset Library has the complete collection on microfiche. SPORTDiscus is produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) located in Ottawa.

Video Tutorials

Learn how to search databases- Medline(Ovid) and Food Science and Technology Abstracts (Ebsco) more efficiently by:

locating and using subject headings,
using keywords,
applying limits.

Nutrition

Create a search strategy

Changer