Find articles - Indigenous Health - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Search the catalogue

In University of Ottawa's library catalogue, the following terms may be helpful:

Indigenous
"First Nation*"
"First People"
Aboriginal*
"Native American"
"Indians of North America"
Inuit*
Métis

Search example:
(Indigenous OR "First Nation*" OR "First People" OR Aboriginal* OR "Native American" OR "Indians of North America" OR Inuit* OR Métis) and (medicine* OR medical OR health*)

For complex searches, the University of Alberta has created search filters for Indigenous peoples in Canada.

Key databases

PubMed (Medline) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
3rd-Party login is now mandatory.

Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database
The database contains publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region. Both peer-reviewed and grey literature are included.

Native Health Database » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations
CINAHL (EBSCO) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
SCOPUS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. The research areas covered are science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Arctic Health Publications Database
This database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, and links to full-text journal articles, reports, newspapers, conference proceedings, grey literature, and other documents and non-print materials.
Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Indigenous Knowledge Portal
The First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada's searchable database and related links that provides access to a variety of annotated literature reviews, reports, guides, films, booklets, studies, journal articles and presentations all related to Aboriginal children and families in Canada and similar countries.

Journals

American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research is a professionally refereed scientific journal. It contains empirical research, program evaluations, case studies, unpublished dissertations, and other articles in the behavioral, social, and health sciences which clearly relate to the mental health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts. It is published by the American Indian Studies Center at the University of California, Los Angeles.
Australian Indigenous Health Bulletin
The Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin Journal is a peer-reviewed, open-access online journal that publishes original, informative and scholarly articles on a broad range of topics under the umbrella of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing. Preference for publication is given to practical examples of policies, strategies and programs that utilise clinical, educational, organisational, economic and/or environmental approaches to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health that have the potential to inform and support everyday practice.
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
The Canadian Journal of Native Studies is a highly recognized journal in the field of Native Studies. It comes out on a bi-annual basis, and publishes original research which is refereed by peer review. As a general focus, the journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, education and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide.
Études Inuit Studies
Études Inuit Studies, a semi-annual scholarly journal, has published since 1977. It is devoted to studying traditional and contemporary Inuit societies from Greenland to Russia from a broad social science and humanities perspective (ethnology, politics, law, archaeology, linguistics, history, etc.). Each volume contains articles, book summaries, science information and yearly reviews of doctoral theses and articles that have appeared in other journals.
First Peoples Child & Family Review
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
IK: Other Ways of Knowing
IK: Other Ways of Knowing is an electronic, multidisciplinary peer-reviewed open access journal that published original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of indigenous knowledge from a global perspective. Indigenous knowledge is an emerging area of study that focuses on the ways of knowing, seeing, and thinking that are passed down orally from generation to generation. These ways of understanding reflect thousands of years of experimentation and innovation in topics like agriculture, animal husbandry, child rearing practices, education systems, medicine, and natural resource management—among many other categories. The journal ceased publication as of the end of 2019 and published its final issue in June of 2019.
International Journal of Circumpolar Health
International Journal of Circumpolar Health is a peer-reviewed international open access journal that specializes in circumpolar health. The journal has a particular interest in the health of indigenous peoples. The Journal publishes research that relates to human health in high latitude environments including biomedical sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
International Journal of Indigenous Health
The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. The Journal seeks to bring knowledge from diverse intellectual traditions together with a focus on culturally diverse Indigenous voices, methodologies and epistemology. The Journal is peer-reviewed, online, open-access and shares innovative health research across disciplines, Indigenous communities, and countries.
Pimatisiwin: Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing
The Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing is a peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly online journal that shares multi-disciplinary Indigenous knowledge and research experience amongst Indigenous health professionals, leaders, researchers and community members. The journal publishes original, informative and scholarly articles on the broadly defined topic of Indigenous wellbeing. Serving as a forum for the clarification and exchange of ideas, the journal features articles on projects that make a significant impact on our understanding of Indigenous wellbeing.
Recherches Amérindiennes au Québec
Recherches amérindiennes au Québec est une revue multidisciplinaire francophone éditée au Québec qui publie des articles scientifiques et des chroniques portant sur les enjeux et les réalités des peuples autochtones des Amériques et à travers le monde. Elle publie trois numéros par année; certains sont à thème, d’autres réunissent des articles hors thème. Tous les articles publiés sont des textes inédits qui sont soumis à un processus d’évaluation anonyme par les pairs.
Rural and Remote Health
Rural and Remote Health is a not-for-profit, open-access, online-only, peer-reviewed academic publication. It aims to further rural and remote health education, research and practice. The primary purpose of the Journal is to publish and so provide an international knowledge-base of peer-reviewed material from rural health practitioners (medical, nursing and allied health professionals and health workers), educators, researchers and policy makers.

Indigenous Health

Related Guides

Français

Search the catalogue

Key databases

Journals