How to Use Zotero

Bite-size search strategies to help you become an expert searcher.

Create a bibliography in Zotero

Instructions

You can use Zotero to quickly create a bibliography.

  1. Select the references you want to include in your bibliography
  2. Over one of the selected references, right-click and choose "Create Bibliography from Items…"
  3. Choose a citation style, language and an output method (note that "Copy to Clipboard" will allow you to paste your bibliography in a Word document, for instance)
  4. Open Word and use the Paste function to insert the bibliography.

Note – Always verify the accuracy of any list of references created with Zotero.

Complete Instructions

Review

Task for learning: Use Zotero to create a bibliography of 10 or more items.

I have created a bibliography in Zotero and pasted it into Word. I notice that there is a mistake in the title of a book in my bibliography. If I correct the title in the Word document, will that change be saved in Zotero as well?
A) Yes: 1 votes (25%)
B) No: 3 votes (75%)
Total Votes: 4

All Review Questions

Questions?

If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the course does not address, e-mail the University of Ottawa Library: bibliolibrary@uOttawa.ca

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

This online course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. Unless otherwise stated, it is attributed to Mish Boutet, and is based on handouts by Patrick Labelle (also under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).

[How to Use Zotero online course updated: December 1, 2019]