How to Use Zotero

Bite-size search strategies to help you become an expert searcher.

Instructions

Collections enable you to organize your references by topic, assignment, course and more.

  1. Click on the yellow folder with green plus sign button in the upper left corner of Zotero
  2. Enter a name for the collection
  3. Click "OK"
  4. To create a subcollection:
    • Right-click on the collection
    • Choose "New Subcollection…"
    • Enter a name for the subcollection
    • Click "OK"

Complete Instructions

Review

Task for learning: Create at least two collections and at least one subcollection.

If I have a reference for a newspaper article, how many different collections can I put that reference in?
A) Only one collection or subcollection: 0 votes (0%)
B) More than one collection, but only as long as one collection is a subcollection of the other: 1 votes (6.25%)
C) An unlimited number of collections or subcollections: 15 votes (93.75%)
D) None of the above: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 16

All Review Questions

If you have questions, or if you run into problems that the course does not address, e-mail the University of Ottawa Library: bibliolibrary@uOttawa.ca

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

This online course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license. Unless otherwise stated, it is attributed to Mish Boutet, and is based on handouts by Patrick Labelle (also under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).

[How to Use Zotero online course updated: December 1, 2019]