Scopus Search Tutorials
Below we have included a series of short screencast searching tutorials. These videos have been designed to help guide you through the process of searching in Scopus, from accessing the resource, all the way to retrieving and downloading a copy of an article.
Due to the fact that the screencasts capture the presenter's entire screen, we recommend that you maximize the size of the video player to ensure that you can see all of the details. If the video appears blurry, increase the quality under the video's Youtube settings.
1. Accessing Scopus
In this first video in the series, we show you how to access Scopus. By accessing it through the University of Ottawa Library you are recognized as being affiliated with uOttawa, giving you full access to the materials within our subscription.
(c) Jolene Hurtubise, 2020. This video is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/). Copyright in database platforms owned by: Scopus (c) Elsevier
2. Running a Search in Scopus
In the first half of this video, we introduce you to the Scopus interface and walk you through the process of running a simple search. In your assignments, you will need to run searches that are more complex and detailed then a simple search. In the second half of the video, we take you step-by-step through the process of running an advanced search.
(c) Jolene Hurtubise, 2020. This video is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/). Copyright in database platforms owned by: Scopus (c) Elsevier
This level of search complexity should support most of the searches that you will need to run throughout the first few years of your undergraduate degree. As you continue towards the end of your undergraduate degree, or continue onto graduate studies, you may want to learn how to make your searches even more complex and specific to be able to adequately address your research needs. To do so, please visit your subject-specific guide and/or talk to your librarian.
3. Filters in Scopus
Once you have run your search and retrieved results, you can use filters to limit and refine those results to those that are the most relevant for your research needs. This video shows you the filters available in Scopus and how to apply them.
(c) Jolene Hurtubise, 2020. This video is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/). Copyright in database platforms owned by: Scopus (c) Elsevier
A transcription of this video is available.
4. How to Read an Entry in Scopus
If you are unfamiliar with academic databases, it can be difficult to decipher all of the information provided in an article's record. This video shows you where each of the sections of the article record are located, as well as explain the information that they contain.
(c) Jolene Hurtubise, 2020. This video is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/). Copyright in database platforms owned by: Scopus (c) Elsevier
5. Obtaining Full-Text Articles from Scopus
Now that you have refined your results and have some articles in your results list that you would like to use, you need to know how to access the full-text version. Follow the steps in this video to learn how to read an article online and download it as a PDF.
(c) Jolene Hurtubise, 2020. This video is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/). Copyright in database platforms owned by: Scopus (c) Elsevier