Welcome
Welcome to this page featuring some library resources helpful designed for academic and career success. It was designed with students of research programs at the Telfer School of Management in mind, but everyone is welcome to browse through these great online resources.
Databases
- Career Cruising » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowAn interactive bilingual career resource.
- IBISWorld » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld provides hundreds of in-depth Canadian, U.S. and Global industry market research and business environment reports. The iExpert reports have insightful questions and answers with industry insiders.
- Henry Stewart Talks » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowHenry Stewart Talks publishes animated audio visual presentations by leading world experts - advanced content in a user friendly format. They cover biomedicine, life sciences, management, marketing, finance, advertising and many more topics. Every talk has informative visuals and synchronized narration.
Graduate School
How to Keep Your Doctorate on Track
The path of a doctoral student can feel challenging and isolating. This guide provides doctoral students with key ideas and support to kick-start a doctoral journey, inspire progress and complete their thesis or dissertation. Bringing together the voices of doctoral supervisors and candidates past and present from around the globe, How to Keep your Doctorate on Track will be a trusted companion for any PhD, DBA or EdD student. Supervisors and those offering support and guidance to doctoral candidates will also glean valuable insight into fresh approaches and their own practice.
Getting the Most Out of Your Doctorate
Beyond the doctoral thesis itself, the most significant factors in the progression of PhD candidature and early academic careers are: the relationships between the researcher and their supervisor(s), the ability to network, and understanding one's place in the global research arena. Readers will get helpful tips on how to sustain healthy and long-lasting relationships with their supervisors, learn how to develop their networks, and understand the important changes impacting the modern PhD candidate.
The Unruly PhD
This collection features former graduate students who speak frankly about the challenges and decisions they faced along the way to their doctorates. Peabody leaves no doubt that there are as many right ways to get through a PhD, and as many right career tracks on the other side, as there are students willing to forge their own paths.
Women Scholars: Navigating the Doctoral Journey
Over and over, studies have concluded that the doctoral experience is a monumental challenge in higher education, particularly for women. This book, Women Scholars: Navigating the Doctoral Journey, provides an enlightening ethnographic look at women and their doctoral developmental experiences. The book's aim is to empower women to be able to contextualize their experience while also offering support and inspiring readers to consider alternative ways to successfully approach the doctoral process. Women anticipating and entering the life of academia will benefit from the voices and experiences shared by the women scholars in this book.
A Guide to Academia
A Guide to Academia is a handbook for all those individuals thinking seriously about going to graduate school. Each chapter begins with a section called the "hard truth," which will help students determine if they are on the right path. Starting with an undergraduate student looking for a graduate school, the reader is taken on a journey up the academic ladder through graduate studies, a postdoctoral fellowship and an assistant professorship.
The A-Z of the PhD Trajectory : a Practical Guide for a Successful Journey
This textbook is a guide to success during the PhD trajectory. The first part of this book takes the reader through all steps of the PhD trajectory, and the second part contains a unique glossary of terms and explanation relevant for PhD candidates. Written in the accessible language of the PhD Talk blogs, the book contains a great deal of practical advice for carrying out research, and presenting one's work. It includes tips and advice from current and former PhD candidates, thus representing a broad range of opinions.
Navigating an Academic Career: a Brief Guide for PhD Students, Postdocs, and New Faculty
Demystifies the academic career path with practical advice With the number of people being awarded PhDs growing far more rapidly than the supply of academic jobs, those at an early-career stage must think strategically in order to be competitive and successful.
Academic Careers
What They Didn't Teach You in Graduate School
This irreverent, but serious guide to what life in higher education institutions is really like, now enhanced by 100 new tips. Invaluable advice that ranges from getting your Ph.D. to setting the course of your academic career The 100 new hints expand sections on the dissertation process, job hunting, life in the classroom and on dealing with students, as well as on matters that affect readers' careers, such as research, publication, and tenure.
Navigating an Academic Career: a Brief Guide for PhD Students, Postdocs, and New Faculty
With the number of people being awarded PhDs growing far more rapidly than the supply of academic jobs, those at an early-career stage must think strategically in order to be competitive and successful. This book is a concise and conversational manual that guides readers through starting their academic journey, surviving the demands of their first academic position, and thriving in academia and beyond.
How to Be an Academic Superhero
In universities across the world, academics struggle to establish and sustain their careers while satisfying intensifying institutional demands. Drawing from the author's decades of observation and experience in academia, this exceptional book responds to the challenges of fostering a successful academic career. Featuring an overarching focus on holistic career development as well as specific chapters on mentorship, networking, job applications and interviews, publishing, funding and more, this book guides readers through their prospective academic careers while offering informed and compassionate advice and insights.
How to Get Published in the Best Entrepreneurship Journals
This book provides entrepreneurship researchers with relevant material and insights to support them in their efforts to publish their research in the most prestigious entrepreneurship outlets. This essential guide to publishing in entrepreneurship brings together a wealth of contributors, all of whom have published in the leading entrepreneurship journals. Both fledgling and experienced entrepreneurship faculty members will find this an essential resource as they strive towards publication in A-ranked entrepreneurship or management journals.
Professorial Pathways
In the twenty-first century, universities worldwide have found themselves thrust into a great "brain race" as nations, both developed and developing, seek to enhance their place in the global knowledge economy. As the concept of the de-localized university--one that has radically expanded, perhaps even beyond national borders--grows, competing nations have begun reshaping aspects of their national systems to accommodate global standards and metrics.
Modern Day Challenges in Academia
Examining the modern day challenges faced by academics throughout their working lives, this timely book investigates the ways in which academic careers are changing, the reasons for these changes and their potential future impacts. Contributors with experience of work in both traditional and contemporary institutions utilise theoretical and empirical methods to provide international perspectives on the key issues confronting modern day academics. Split across three chronological parts this book guides the reader through the phases of an academic's working life and the unique challenges encountered at each stage.
Survive and Thrive: A Guide for Untenured Faculty
The experience of an untenured faculty member is highly dependent on the quality of the mentoring they receive. This mentoring may come from a number of different sources, and the concept of developing a constellation of mentors is highly recommended, but a mentoring relationship that is guided by the mentee's needs will be the most productive. Often, however, the mentee does not know their own needs, what questions to ask, and what topics they should discuss with a mentor. This book provides a guide to the mentoring process for untenured faculty.
Reflections on Life in Higher Education
This book explores the challenges of an academic teaching career. The authors discuss the issues that may arise in the tenure process, scholarship activities, publishing, and providing service to their academic communities as well as how to keep teaching lessons relevant and fresh.
Beginning a Career in Academia: A Guide for Graduate Students of Color
This practical guide prepares graduate students of color for their first job in academia and offers strategies for succeeding in the early years of a tenure-track position. Through the voices of faculty who have experienced the rigors of the job search and a career in academia, Beginning a Career in Academia offers advice for graduate students of color on how to transition from graduate school to an academic position. This inclusive volume shares perspectives that vary based on gender, racial, ethnic, generational, and disciplinary backgrounds, giving readers an opportunity to reflect on successful strategies for career readiness and for dealing with marginalization.
A Guide to Academia
A Guide to Academia is a handbook for all those individuals thinking seriously about going to graduate school. Written by an author with extensive experience navigating the academic world, the book explains all the steps and potential bumps in the road that a student might encounter as they take the plunge into academia. Each chapter begins with a section called the "hard truth," which will help students determine if they are on the right path. Starting with an undergraduate student looking for a graduate school, the reader is taken on a journey up the academic ladder through graduate studies, a postdoctoral fellowship and an assistant professorship.
Academic Communication
Presenting Your Research
For many researchers, the need to present relevant and engaging material in the most effective way in an unfamiliar setting presents a potential barrier to their success as professionals. This handy guide tackles the obstacles to effective and successful presentations, considering the range of material which might be presented, the occasions which suit different types of material and the skills needed to present research in a way that is engaging and persuasive.
Publish or Perish
This book identifies the pressures placed upon academics to either publish their work regularly, or suffer the consequences, including lack of promotion, or even redundancy. Providing one of the first extensive analyses of this doctrine, the author identifies the overwhelmingly negative unintended consequences stemming from the pressure to publish research. He explores the detrimental effects of this burden, which includes the impact of drawing away the focus from educating students, to the declining quality of published research.
Academic and Scientific Poster Presentation
This book offers the first comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences. Each chapter explores different factors that impact upon how posters function, and how they fit within today's conference practices, as well as provides guidance on how to address compilation and presentation issues with the poster medium. Drawing from fields of education, psychology, advertising and other areas, the book offers examples of how theories may be applied to practice in terms of both traditional paper and electronic poster formats.
Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively
Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively is a guidebook on science writing and communication that professors, students, and professionals in the STEM fields can use in a practical way. This book advocates a clear and concise writing and presenting style, enabling users to concentrate on content. The book includes chapters on the publishing industry (discussing bibliometrics, h-indexes, and citations), plagiarism, and how to report data properly. It also offers practical guidance for writing equations and provides the reader with extensive practice material consisting of both exercises and solutions.
Making Effective Presentations at Professional Conferences
This work prepares teachers, college students, and higher education faculty to conduct various types of presentations, including workshops and teacher inservice trainings; poster sessions; panel discussions; roundtables; research forums; and technology-supported presentations. The book takes the approach of a "paper mentor" that guides the reader through the use of templates, specific examples, and a wide range of on-line resources.
English for Presentations at International Conferences
Good presentation skills are key to a successful career in academia. This guide provides examples taken from real presentations given both by native and non-native academics covering a wide variety of disciplines. The easy-to-follow guidelines and tips will teach you how to: plan, prepare and practice a well-organized, interesting presentation.
English for academic CVs, resumes, and online profiles
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Building a CV or profile can be difficult for anyone, but especially for those whose first language is not English. This book is essential for those looking to promote themselves in the academic community, and can be used both for self-study, as well as in an English for Academic Purposes (EAP) course. The book contains tips, do's and dont's, and discussion points that can be used by instructors.
Don't Be Such a Scientist
Today, in everything from government funding cuts to climate change denial, science is under attack. And while communicating science is more crucial than ever, the scientific community still struggles to connect with everyday people. This book is a cutting and irreverent manual to making your voice heard in an age of attacks on science. Invaluable for anyone looking to break out of the boxes of academia or research, Olson's writing will inspire readers to "make science human"--and to enjoy the ride along the way.
The Effective Scientist
What is an effective scientist? One who is successful by quantifiable standards, with many publications, citations, and students supervised? Yes, but there is much more. Truly effective scientists need to have influence beyond academia, usefully applying and marketing their research to non-scientists.
Career Transitions
So What Are You Going to Do with That?
Graduate schools churn out tens of thousands of Ph.D.'s and M.A.'s every year. Half of all college courses are taught by adjunct faculty. The chances of an academic landing a tenure-track job seem only to shrink as student loan and credit card debts grow. What's a frustrated would-be scholar to do? Can he really leave academia? Can a non-academic job really be rewarding-and will anyone want to hire a grad-school refugee? With "So What Are You Going to Do with That?" Susan Basalla and Maggie Debelius-Ph.D.'s themselves-answer all those questions with a resounding "Yes!" A witty, accessible guide full of concrete advice for anyone contemplating the jump from scholarship to the outside world.
From Academia to Entrepreneur: Lessons from the Real World
From Academia to Entrepreneur provides practical advice on entrepreneurship, interspersed with insights the author gained from starting up his own business and in associations with other ventures. A few of the questions From Academia to Entrepreneur: Lessons from the Real World answers: How do I pragmatically appraise business opportunities? What traits should I look for in an enterprise? What can and should I do with my concept while in academia, before entering such an endeavor? How do I overcome risk aversion? And most importantly, why should I be the one to build this business?
Building a Career Outside Academia
After years of hard work and many long hours, you've finally finished your dissertation and earned your doctorate. What will you do with your degree? While many graduates go on to pursue academic careers, academia isn't for everyone. This career guide examines the rewarding opportunities that await social and behavioral science doctorates in nonacademic sectors, including government, consulting, think tanks, for-profit corporations, and nonprofit associations. This expert guidance will help you decide what career is the best fit for you.
Succeeding Outside the Academy
Not every PhD becomes a professor. Some never want to, but others discover--too late and ill-prepared to look elsewhere--that there's precious little room in today's ivory tower, and what's there might not be a good fit. For those leaving academia, or wanting out, or finding themselves adrift, this book offers hope, advice, and a bracing look at how others facing the same quandary have made careers outside of the academy work. All of the authors in this volume, as well as the editors, have built successful careers beyond the groves of academia.
The Relevant PhD
Hugo Letiche and Geoff Lightfoot have written up a commitment to restore "relevance" via critical engagement to management pedagogy and practice. Their success is a clear demonstration of the practical relevance of imagination, commitment and scholarship.
Successful Careers Beyond the Lab
There is a major demand for people with scientific training in a wide range of professions based on and maintaining relations with science. However, there is a lack of good first-hand information about alternative career paths to research. From entrepreneurship, industry and the media to government, public relations, activism and teaching, this is a readable guide to science based skills, lifestyles and career paths. The ever-narrowing pyramid of opportunities within an academic career structure, or the prospect of a life in the laboratory losing its attraction, mean that many who trained in science and engineering now look for alternative careers.
Inside and Outside the Academy : Valuing and Preparing PhDs for Careers.
This report examines the employment opportunities and outcomes of PhD holders inside and outside academia, the state of professional skills development for PhD students, and examples of professional development initiatives in Canada and peer countries.
Transferring Your Teaching Skills into the Wider World
Are you seeking to use your subject knowledge and teaching skills beyond the classroom? Many teachers don't recognise the vast range of skills, expertise and experience they possess. Transferring your Teaching Skills into the Wider World will help you focus on how you can use your many transferable skills in a variety of contexts and settings across the educational sector and beyond. Tips and hints show how you can follow a similar path. This book is essential reading for any teacher looking for guidance on how to change or develop their career whilst making the most of their existing skills and experience.
Building a Research Career
Authors Ludlow and Kent have crystallized the keys to a successful career in research for research-oriented graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, biomedical and clinical investigators and faculty members at various stages of their careers. This book outlines guides to success in critical areas of a scientific career, including designing research, developing research programs, obtaining research grants, publishing in top journals, making sense of impact scores, grant writing do's and don'ts, applying for patents, and how to become a leader in a scientific field. The authors cover the As to Zs of career-building strategies toward a rewarding life in academia and science.
Leader Evolution: From Technical Expertise to Strategic Leadership
Most individuals who move into leadership positions experience the modern day version of trial by ordeal. It's sink or swim. To reduce the learning curve and create a more effective process, this book describes a road map for leadership development, a series of four stages that expand personal competence as well as create a broader impact on the organization or business. The book is a pragmatic approach for self-motived individuals to take control of their professional development by giving them the concepts, tools, techniques, and assignments to develop their leadership effectiveness where it counts the most--on the job.
Career Development
Networking for Nerds
Networking for Nerds provides a step-by-step guide to understanding how to access hidden professional opportunities through networking. With an emphasis on practical advice on how and why to network, you will learn how to formulate and execute a strategic networking plan that is dynamic, multidimensional, and leverages social media platforms and other networking channels.
Personal and Professional Development for Business Students
Whether you are about to embark on your business degree programme, are already a business student or are a business graduate, this book helps you to develop yourself and your career in ways which will benefit you, your current and future employers and society.
Marketing Your Value
This book is an excellent read for college students, recent graduates and mid-career professionals as they navigate their careers and prepare for the next step towards their professional goals. Divided into three sections, this publication offers you an opportunity to assess your personal and professional skills, challenges you to create a compelling personal brand, and helps you develop the communication materials necessary to navigate your career.
Employability
Keen to succeed in today's competitive job market? Want to learn how to make the most of longer-term graduate career development opportunities? This handy guide is the gateway to help you understand the academic and practical aspects of employability and to make the most of your longer-term graduate employability development.
How to Manage Your Career
If you are looking to move to the next level of your career then this book is for you. The author has written an easy-to-understand, easy-to-digest book about mindset that includes the neuroscience about why we think and feel the way we do, hints and tips on how to take control of and grow your own career, as well as case studies, hints, tips, and tools to help you manage your career through the power of mindset to help you foster success.
Thriving in the Gig Economy
Take an in-depth look into the gig economy to see how tech professionals and entrepreneurs can earn a living as freelancers and contractors. Build your own business. In this book, author Adam Sinicki explains the impact of the gig economy and the forces that led to it as it relates to technology and working online. You will understand how to make a living supplying tech skills on a "per gig" basis. Practical instructions, advice, and tips are provided on goal setting, lifestyle design, and selecting the types of work and contracts that further your goals and support the things you value as you transition from a 9-5 job.
Unequaled
You're smart and hard working, but guess what--so is everyone else. So how do you stand out? You need to distinguish yourself in order to get ahead, but simply being good at your job is not enough. Moving up is about soft skills, networking, client connections, emotional intelligence, and your personal reputation. This book is a frank and candid guide to what it really takes to succeed in the field, packed with insights, stories, and actionable tips based on the author's 40 years at Morgan Stanley. You'll learn how to lead, when to follow, and how to build the reputation you need to get ahead in a competitive field. This book shows you how to step up your relationships, strengthen your soft skills, and build your brand for success.
Manage Your Career
This book is a unique guide to creating a thriving career, no matter what stage your career path is in. It outlines 10 Keys which engage you in creating your own success in any organizational culture. You can take the necessary steps toward sustaining the quality of your career, and this book is your guide.
Management
How to Be an Even Better Manager
This ninth edition of the best-selling How to be an Even Better Manager covers over 60 essential topics across the three key areas in which any manager needs to be competent: managing people; managing activities and processes; and managing and developing yourself. Thoroughly revised and updated, with ten new chapters providing timely advice on topics such as coaching, developing emotional intelligence, innovating and effectively using financial ratios and balance sheets, this is an invaluable handbook for current and aspiring managers.
Project Management Metrics, KPIs, and Dashboards
Harold Kerzner's essential strategies on measuring project management performance With the growth of complex projects, stakeholder involvement, and advancements in visual-based technology, metrics and KPIs (key performance indicators) are key factors in evaluating project performance. Get ready to bolster your awareness of what good metrics management really entails today--and be armed with the knowledge to measure performance more effectively.
More for Less: The Complex Adaptive Leader
Most leadership assumptions are based on a deterministic view of the world. If you do X you should get Y, process can be employed for most things, and more complicated problems can be analysed to enable better decisions. Whilst these approaches suit the Simple and the Complicated, they do not work so well for the Complex. The Complex needs a different approach the core of which is to enable the organisation being led to be agile and self-organising. More for Less introduces a new paradigm for leadership, Leadership 4.0.
The First-Time Manager
The diverse responsibilities of a new managerial position in the modern workplace can appear daunting. This practical guide aims to dispel any such fears, with direct and comprehensive advice on the immediate difficulties faced by a new manager. Fully revised, The First-Time Manager is an introduction to fundamental management topics and necessary skills such as, effective communication, motivation, delegation, leadership, financial principles, human resource concerns, marketing, public relations, organisational structure and self-development within the role.
Leader Evolution: From Technical Expertise to Strategic Leadership
Most individuals who move into leadership positions experience the modern day version of trial by ordeal. It's sink or swim. To reduce the learning curve and create a more effective process, this book describes a road map for leadership development, a series of four stages that expand personal competence as well as create a broader impact on the organization or business. Each stage requires unique changes in thinking, perspective taking, and behavior, both those needed to acquire as well as those needed to jettison.
The Agile Edge
This concise book is an effective source for understanding Agile Scrum development; why we use it and how it works. It will explain how work gets done in manageable iterations (sprints) and the team meetings that keep work on track (ceremonies). Also, since risk is a constant threat to any team-based project, managing risk in an Agile Scrum environment is specifically discussed.
Management Consulting Today and Tomorrow
Divided into six parts, the book introduces readers to the consulting industry, addressing the major practice areas, contexts, and implementations of the field. Readers will also learn how the developing field of entrepreneurship creates new economic structures and job opportunities. Practitioners, consultants, clients, faculty, and students of business and management will learn not only how to consult, but also gain the skills needed to adapt to and lead organizational change, giving them a competitive edge when they enter the field.
The World's Newest Profession: Management Consulting in the Twentieth Century
In The World's Newest Profession, Christopher McKenna offers a history of management consulting in the twentieth century. While management consulting may not yet be a recognized profession, the leading consulting firms have been advising and reshaping the largest organizations in the world since the 1920s. Through detailed case studies based on unprecedented access to internal files and personal interviews, this book explores how management consultants came to be so influential within our culture and explains exactly what consultants really do in the global economy.
Management Consulting
Including a lengthy, comprehensive introduction, this important collection brings together some of the most influential papers that have contributed to our understanding of management consultancy work. The two-volume set encompasses the breadth of conceptual and empirical perspectives and explores those key ideas that have helped to advance our knowledge of this intriguing area.
Data Driven: An introduction to management consulting in the 21st century
This book is a "scientific" introduction to management consulting that covers elementary and more advanced concepts, such as strategy and client-relationship. It discusses the emerging role of information technologies in consulting activities and introduces the essential tools in data science, assuming no technical background.
Healthcare Management
101 Careers in Healthcare Management
101 Careers in Healthcare Management is the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The guide clearly explains the responsibilities and duties of each of these careers and how they differ from other management jobs. It describes the integral role of healthcare administrators in creating and sustaining the systems that allow healthcare clinicians to do their best work. The book covers educational requirements, opportunities, traditional and nontraditional career pathways, and helps students assess whether they are temperamentally and intellectually suited to a career in healthcare management.
Handbook of Healthcare Management
The Handbook of Healthcare Management is a comprehensive examination of key management practices for global healthcare organizations, arguing that insight into and implementation of these practices is essential for success and sustainability. This Handbook will be invaluable to students in both master and doctoral healthcare management programs, as well as faculty and health services researchers, practitioners in both private and public sectors, policy-makers, and public administrators.
Handbook of Healthcare Operations Management
Collectively, the chapters in this book address application domains including inpatient and outpatient services, public health networks, supply chain management, and resource constrained settings in developing countries. Many of the chapters provide specific examples or case studies illustrating the applications of operations research methods across the globe.
Managing Modern Healthcare
This book reveals how managers in practice are responding to the many contemporary challenges facing healthcare (and the NHS in particular) and how they are able or not to effectively exploit sources of knowledge, learning and best practice through the networks of practice they engage in to improve healthcare delivery and healthcare organisational performance. Managing Modern Healthcare makes a number of important theoretical contributions as well as practical recommendations.
A Self-Fulfilling Prophecy: Building a Successful Career in Health Research
The book breaks down the key to a successful career in health research, through a systematic analysis of how you can improve your curriculum vitae and positively influence external factors that will determine the eventual success of your career. PhD candidates and Post-Doctoral Fellows provide insights into how they have developed their own research careers, thus providing evidence that it is possible to achieve something substantive if you are able to think and judge your career in a critical manner.
Person-Focused Health Care Management
Provides a decision-making framework and guide to improving the experience of care from the individual patient's perspective. Written and edited by distinguished educators, clinicians, and researchers with decades of health care policy and management experience, the text examines how health care managers can initiate and direct the process of system transformation by understanding and using a greater "person focus" in their decision making.
Project Management for Healthcare
Exploring the discipline of project management from the perspective of the healthcare, the book dissects the project process and covers the management skills required to successfully manage a project. By defining a project to include the tools and techniques required, the book shows how to successfully deliver a project from identifying stakeholders and developing and gaining consensus on requirements to constructing a project plan. It also covers in detail the skills required to successfully manage project stakeholders and team members.
Strategic Management of Healthcare Organizations
This practical book includes state-of-the art thinking on stakeholder theory and strategic management to encourage a broader and more enlightened view of management. It outlines a process that is applicable to all levels of a healthcare organization, including evaluation of trends in the external environment that need to be addressed, analysis of internal resources, generation and selection of innovative solutions to the problems a firm is facing, and development of an action plan and control system to ensure that solutions are implemented and successfully address the most pressing issues.
Innovations in Healthcare Management
Bringing together experience and expertise from across the healthcare industry, this book examines innovations that can bring about real advances in the healthcare industry. The book maintains a focus on key issues across the healthcare industry--such as access to care, demand creation, patient experiences, and data--to help readers implement new ideas and new models of delivery of affordable care in healthcare systems around the world.
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management, Second Edition, explains the basic principles and techniques of quality management in healthcare. By using this easy-to-read book, complete with helpful charts and diagrams, your students will examine a range of topics, from measuring performance to creating high-quality services that result in satisfied customers.
Women and Leadership
Women Scholars: Navigating the Doctoral Journey
The book's aim is to empower women to be able to contextualize their experience while also offering support and inspiring readers to consider alternative ways to successfully approach the doctoral process. Women anticipating and entering the life of academia will benefit from the voices and experiences shared by the women scholars in this book. The essay writers in this volume offer an examination of critical incidents in their doctoral experiences and offer strategies they have found helpful in managing those incidents.
Handbook of Gendered Careers in Management
Expert contributors discuss pertinent issues impacting three key areas of career development: The beginning of gendered managerial careers (Getting In) such as education and recruitment; The progress of gendered managerial careers (Getting On) such as career phases and succession planning; What comes after gendered managerial careers (Getting Out) such as recalibration of career patterns and retirement. The theoretical and practical insights presented are transferable across all management career sectors and offer an original perspective into gendered employment within business and management.
Women Leadership in Emerging Markets
This book focuses on the increase in female leadership over the last fifty years, and the concrete benefits and challenges this leads to in organizations. It moves beyond the typical focus on developed, Western contexts and answers the call for research on how women in emerging markets rise above the proverbial "glass ceiling". The authors integrate two underdeveloped topics that are highly relevant to modern business: women in leadership roles, and women in emerging markets. Students of leadership, diversity, gender studies, and human resource management will learn much from this insightful book.
Global Women Leaders
Global Women Leaders showcases narratives of women in business, nonprofit organizations and the public sector who have achieved leadership positions despite cultural obstacles and gender bias. The successes of the leaders featured in this book will be of interest to those in public, private and nonprofit sector organizations as well as academics and students teaching and studying feminist leadership, MBA students and entrepreneurs.
Walk the Talk: Women, Work, Equity, Effectiveness
If we recognize that economic growth requires the efficient allocation of resources, then how can half of the world's population be prevented from making a full contribution? This book grows directly out of the personal challenges the author grappled with, the conversations she has had with women in a variety of settings, and the constructive debates with corporate representatives and policy planners on how the process of change should be initiated. This book is a must-read for those who would like to walk the talk and suggests how together we can ensure equity with effectiveness. It provides ideas and agenda for action to create an ecosystem of empowerment.
Why Women Should Be Taken More Seriously in the Boardroom
Historically, there has been a lack of parity between women and men in senior corporate roles, particularly in major companies with the biggest market capitalisation. This can be partly explained by inequalities of career opportunity and also women's self-perceptions. Yet there are plenty of examples in business and other worlds, notably politics, that women can perform effectively in the highest leadership roles. Women have been dismissed as lacking the character for business leadership. Women do need to act tougher to get to the top, but this does not mean abandoning their femininity or having a fulfilling life outside business. Why Women Should Be Taken More Seriously in the Boardroom is a useful tool for business students as well as those in the corporate world looking to gain a deeper understanding of gender balance within leadership roles.
Women Leaders: The Power of Working Abroad
This book will benefit those committed to broadening the ranks of leadership and women aspiring to fast track a career. Working and living abroad is the most powerful development approach to diversify talent pipelines to address the swelling talent shortage and leadership crisis. The authors combine their expertise with the advice of women in senior expatriate roles from all corners of the globe to empower women to overcome barriers slowing their career progression.
