Find Articles - Civil Law - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Electronic journals

Canadian Law Journals -LexisNexis/Quicklaw
Law: Personal account
Non-law: uOttawa users may access this database by selecting the link "Lexis Advance Quickaw" appearing beside "All uOttawa users.".
[+][-]
We strongly advise law students and faculty to login to this product since your personal academic account provides access to a broader range of material.
Canadian Law Journals and Reviews - Westlaw Canada
Law: Personal account
Non-law: uOttawa users may access this database by selecting the link "Lexis Advance Quickaw" appearing beside "All uOttawa users.".
[+][-]
Articles and Newsletters.
See: How to register for Online Research Services (above)

Where to Start

This is a list of legal databases that provide access to journal articles (also referred to as periodicals or serials). If you don't find what you are looking for, please consult our Law Guide for a full range of legal resources for journal articles.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature - LexisNexis/Quicklaw
Index to Canadian Legal Literature - Westlaw Canada (ICLL)
Law: Personal account
Non-law: uOttawa users may access this database by selecting the link "Lexis Advance Quickaw" appearing beside "All uOttawa users.".
Banque de doctrine - AZIMUT/SOQUIJ
Restricted to law accounts.
The "Banque Doctrine" contains more than 22,500 doctrine records from the "Annuaire de jurisprudence et de doctrine du Québec" from 1980 onwards and also includes book revues and journals articles since 1988 from "Droit du travail Express" and specialized reporters.
Scott’s Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature - CAIJ
1998- present,The CAIJ (Centre d'accès à l'information juridique) BIBLIO catalogue now includes the Scott Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (formerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature). This Index covers over 20 000 texts and provides access to full text when available.

FIND ARTICLES/JOURNALS > Print Indexes

If you don't have access to electronic resources, we suggest the following print indexes from our Reference Collection:

Annuaire de jurisprudence et de doctrine du Québec by Société québécoise d'information juridique
Call Number: FTX Off Campus Storage and Reference KEQ 110.2 .A2
Bibliography of Canadian Law by Reynault Boult, Canadian Law Information Council
Call Number: Off Campus Storage Z 6458 .C3B6 1977
Index to Canadian Legal Literature by Carswell Legal Pubications
Call Number: FTX Reference KE 173 .C33
Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature by Marianne Scott, Canadian Association of Law Librairies
Call Number: Off Campus Storage KE 173 .C333
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books by H.W. Wilson
Call Number: Off Campus Storage and Reference Z 6453 .U5
Also available electronically

Key resources

CanLII
La référence (REJB/DCL)
[+][-]
Barreau du Québec databases - Off-campus users will be prompted for their library UOttawa account.
LexisNexis/Quicklaw
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials; Selective coverage of International material)
Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of Quebec case law and doctrine (French only).
Westlaw Canada
[+][-]
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian material; Selective coverage of other International material. Includes the Canadian Abridgment and the CED Canadian Encyclopedia Digest.