Online Resources for Alumni - Free and Open Access Online Resources - Guides de recherche

e-books

SEDAR Canadian Company Information » This link opens in a new window
Is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities. Filing with SEDAR stated January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada.

Social Science Research Network SSRN
The Social Science Research Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The database provides working papers and abstracts for upcoming research.

Termium Plus » This link opens in a new window
Database of linguistic data in English, French and Spanish.

List of Open Educational Resources
Consult our website for more information on open access.

Use this guide to learn to search the library's Omni catalogue, then limit your results to Open Access following these instructions.

arXiv
Open access to over a million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Directory of Open Access Books (Multidisciplinary)
Directory of academic peer-reviewed books in Open Access.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Multidisciplinary)
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. They aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are thousands of journals in the directory. Many are searchable at article level.
Érudit (Multidisciplinary)
The Érudit platform provides access to several types of documents in the humanities and social sciences, as well as the natural science disciplines: academic journals, e-books, proceedings, theses and other documents and data. Access to the majority of texts disseminated by Érudit is free. Nevertheless, depending on the journal, recent issues will only be available to subscribers. Access to this text is restricted to subscribers.

Gallica This link opens in a new window
The digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France offers free access to 70,000 digitized works, more than 80,000 images and many audio resources from the Middle Ages to the beginning of the Twentieth Century.

HighWire Press (Multidisciplinary)
Archive of article abstracts from about 1,000 scholarly and scientific journals.
Internet Archive (Multidisciplinary)
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
OAPEN Library (Humanities and Social Sciences)
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media such as free courses, audio books, language lessons, movies and images.
Open Humanities Press (Humanities )
A grassroots response to the crisis in scholarly publishing in the humanities, Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.

Persée This link opens in a new window
Full-text humanities and social sciences journals in French.

PubMed (Medline)
The National Library of Medicine's search service providing access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.

SEDAR Canadian Company Information » This link opens in a new window
SEDAR is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities. Filing with SEDAR stated January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada.

Social Science Research Network (Social Sciences )
The Social Science Research Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The database provides working papers and abstracts for upcoming research.
Termium Plus (Multidisciplinary)
TERMIUM Plus is a trilingual data bank that gives the precise English, French or Spanish equivalent; a unilingual data bank that can be used to check the meaning of a specialized term or find the meaning of a term in a leading-edge field; and a writing assistance tool that provides access to 14 electronic resources.

uO Research » This link opens in a new window
uO Research, the University's institutional repository includes theses, articles, working papers, technical reports, conference papers, data sets in various digital formats, etc.