Find Articles - Criminal Law - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Electronic Journals

Canadian Law Journals -LexisNexis/Quicklaw
Law: Personal account
Non-law: uOttawa users may access this database by selecting the link "Lexis Advance Quickaw" appearing beside "All uOttawa users.".
[+][-]
We strongly advise law students and faculty to login to this product since your personal academic account provides access to a broader range of material.
Canadian Law Journals and Reviews - Westlaw Canada
Law: Personal account
Non-law: uOttawa users may access this database by selecting the link "Lexis Advance Quickaw" appearing beside "All uOttawa users.".
[+][-]
Articles and Newsletters.
See: How to register for Online Research Services (above)

Periodicals

Annual review of criminal law
The Annual review of criminal law / Toronto : Carswell, 1982-.
Call Number: FTX Periodicals KE 8809.2 .A543
Also available electronically
Canadian criminal law review = revue canadienne de droit pénal
Canadian criminal law review / Scarborough, Ont : Carswell, 1996-.
Call number: FTX Periodicals KE 8802 .C345
Also available electronically
Canadian journal of criminology and criminal justice = Revue canadienne de criminologie et de justice pénale
Canadian journal of criminology and criminal justice = Revue canadienne de criminologie et de justice pénale / Ottawa : Canadian Criminal Justice Association, 1958-.
Call Number: Off Campus Storage HV 6001 .C3
Also available electronically
The Criminal Law Quarterly
The Criminal Law Quarterly / Agincourt, Ont. : Canada Law Book.
Call Number: FTX Periodicals KE 8802 .C534
Also available electronically

Digests & Encyclopedias

Canadian encyclopedic digest (Ontario)
Canadian encyclopedic digest (Ontario) / [Toronto] : Carswell, 1973-.
Call number: FTX Reference KEO 142 .C33
Volumes 15-17 cover criminal law.
Also available electronically
Canadian encyclopedic digest (Western)
Canadian encyclopedic digest (Western) / [Toronto] : Carswell, 1979-.
Call number: FTX Reference KE 156.2 .W43
Volumes 16-19 cover criminal law.
Also available electronically

Print Indexes

If you don't have access to electronic resources, we suggest the following print indexes from our Reference Collection:

Annuaire de jurisprudence et de doctrine du Québec by Société québécoise d'information juridique
Call Number: FTX Off Campus Storage and Reference KEQ 110.2 .A2
Bibliography of Canadian Law by Reynault Boult, Canadian Law Information Council
Call Number: Off Campus Storage Z 6458 .C3B6 1977
Index to Canadian Legal Literature by Carswell Legal Pubications
Call Number: FTX Reference KE 173 .C33
Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature by Marianne Scott, Canadian Association of Law Librairies
Call Number: Off Campus Storage KE 173 .C333
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books by H.W. Wilson
Call Number: Off Campus Storage and Reference Z 6453 .U5
Also available electronically

Databases

This is a partial list of legal databases that provide access to journal articles (also referred to as periodicals or serials). If you don't find what you are looking for, please consult our Law Guide for a full range of legal resources for journal articles.

SOQUIJ- Recherche juridique (Azimut)
Restricted to law accounts.
The "Banque Doctrine" contains more than 22 500 doctrine records from the "Annuaire de jurisprudence et de doctrine du Québec" since 1980 and also includes book revues and journals articles since 1988 from "Droit du travail Express" and specialized reporters.
HeinOnline
Digital archives of legal information consisting of several full-text collections :
The Law Journal Library - over 400 legal scholarly journals from inception.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature - Lexis Advance Quicklaw
This database is located in Legal Indices and Tables under Canada in the Source Directory.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature - Westlaw Canada
Database Identifier ICLL
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text
Bibliographic database that cites articles written since 1982 from more than 600 legal periodicals, and indexes some 2000 law books per year. Full text of over 200 select periodicals, as far back as 1994.

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac indexes about 800 major legal publications (from the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Ireland, Australia and New Zealand) such as law reviews,legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals. LegalTrac indexes about 800 major legal publications (from the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Ireland, Australia and New Zealand) such as law reviews,legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.

Key resources

CanLII
La référence (REJB/DCL)
[+] [-]

Barreau du Québec databases - Off-campus users will be prompted for their library UOttawa account.
LexisNexis/Quicklaw
[+] [-]

Comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials; Selective coverage of International material)
Soquij-Recherche juridique (Azimut)
[+] [-]

Comprehensive coverage of Quebec case law and doctrine (French only).
Westlaw Canada
[+] [-]

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian material; Selective coverage of other International material. Includes the Canadian Abridgment and the CED Canadian Encyclopedia Digest.