Audio / Visual - Music - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Video

Classical music in video »
The Classical Music in Video collection contains hundreds of hours of classical music performances and master classes. It includes major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances by renowned artists and ensembles.
Films on Demand »

Films On Demand offers 40000+ educational videos across 700+ topics, supporting 30 core subjects.

Business & Economics; Careers & Job Search; Family & Consumer Sciences; Science & Mathematics; Health & Medicine; Guidance & Counseling; Humanities & Social Sciences; Technical Education. Each video is divided in segments which allow users to show only the segments which are relevant to the topic presented. All programming includes Canadian public performance rights for classroom use. Videos are provided by Films Media Group and include productions by the following: Films for the Humanities, Cambridge Educational, BBC, CBS and PBS. Approximately 500 titles are added each year.
Opera in Video »
Contains 250 of important opera performances captured on video through staged productions, as well interviews and documentaries.

Audio

Naxos Music Library »
Offers online and remote access for simultaneous users to over 87,000 tracks of music. Entire works or single tracks provide access to various genres of music. Scholarly notes are available. Naxos has acquired the Canadian label Analekta which specializes in Canadian music.

Classical Music Library
Offers online and remote access for simultaneous users to over 20,000 classical music tracks. Scholarly notes are available.
DRAM (Database of American Recorded Music)
Offers online and remote access for simultaneous users to over 9,800 musical compositions. Entire works or single tracks provide access to various genres of music. Scholarly notes are available.
Centrestreams
Listen to thousands of archival recordings by Canadian composers.
(You will need to create yourself a free account in order to get access to the content)
https://www.musiccentre.ca/node/82125
Contemporary Music Portal
A search engine for art music resources from 1945 to this day held by French institutions.
National Jukebox (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
The Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound Recordings
Virtual Gramophone is a multimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada.
The Great 78 Project
The Great 78 Project is a community project for the preservation, research and discovery of 78rpm records. From about 1898 to the 1950s, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78rpm discs.
BBC Sound Effects
These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.

Iconography

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM)
Leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts.
RIdIM Database
Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale
Artstor via JSTOR
Artstor includes over 2 million images from museums, archives, scholars, and artists, for education and research.

The Artstor website will be retired next year on August 1, 2024, but you can access the Artstor images on JSTOR now

Themes

The Directory of Tunes and Musical Themes by Denys Parsons
Publication Date: 1975

Music: Audio / Visual

Video

Audio

Iconography

Themes