Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based research tools

Summaries of up-to-date clinical data in the field of primary health care in adults and recommendations for diagnosis and treatment. ** For best results, use simple keywords.

DynaMed » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window DynaMed is the clinical reference tool that physicians go to for answers to clinical questions. Written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. DynaMed Plus topics are always based on clinical evidence and the content is updated multiple times each day to ensure physicians have the information they need to make decisions at the point of care. Images, Calculators, Guidelines, Patient education pamphlets are also available.
CPS » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window CPS (formerly RxTx) is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. It provides online access to evidence-based drug and therapeutic information. Available in French and in English. One tool for two well known Canadian resources. Rx = The Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS), formerly known as e-CPS, contains more than 2000 product monographs for drugs, vaccines and natural health products, including monographs, including CPhA monographs written by the Canadian Pharmacists Association's editorial staff, based on the best available evidence and reviewed by expert physicians and pharmacists. Include also a module of drug interactions. Tx = The Compendium of Therapeutic Choices (CTC), formerly e-Therapeutics, is a Canadian source for evidence-based treatment information for all health care practitioners involved in therapeutic decision-making.
TRIP: Turning Research into Practice » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window Identifies and links to evidence based material from a variety of English-language sources such as peer-reviewed journals, etexts, images, and patient information.

MSD Manual First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

CLINICAL GUIDELINES EVALUATION

AGREE
Critical Appraisal Tools
This site, developed by the Critical Appraisal Skills Program (CASP), National Health Service, UK, offers simple and understandable tools for the evaluation of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and many other types of studies.

Pelvic Health Rehabilitation

Pelvic Health Rehabilitation: Open Access to the Evidence
Dr. Linda McLean is Full Professor, School of Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Ottawa.
This audience for this guide is pelvic rehabilitation practitioners and students.
All resources that appear in this guide are open access. If you are affiliated with a university or belong to a professional association, you may have access to additional subscription-based resources.

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Please note that the PEDro database is available via the Databases link of this subject page and also from the A-Z databases list of the library website.
OTseeker (free registration required) » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.
TRIP: Turning Research into Practice » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Identifies and links to evidence based material from a variety of English-language sources such as peer-reviewed journals, etexts, images, and patient information.

Centre for Evidence Based Physiotherapy (Maastricht)
An agency which mission is "...To search, collect and disseminate available scientific evidence in the physiotherapy domain for physiotherapists, health care workers, patients and financiers of health care."
Rehabdata (NARIC)
The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR.
Evidence-based Practice - Clinical practice rehabilitation guidelines
This initiative is funded by the Centre for University Teaching of University of Ottawa and by le Centre national de formation en santé.
Institut national d'excellence en santé et services sociaux (INESSS, formerly AETMIS)
INESSS’s mission is to promote clinical excellence and the efficient use of resources in the health and social services sector. At the heart of the mission, INESSS assesses, in particular, the clinical advantages and the costs of the technologies, medications and interventions used in health care and personal social services. It issues recommendations concerning their adoption, use and coverage by the public plan, and develops guides to clinical practice in order to ensure their optimal use.
Contact, Help, Advice and Information Networks (CHAIN Canada)
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)
The Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health is a national body that provides Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial health care decision makers with credible, impartial advice and evidence-based information about the effectiveness and efficiency of drugs and other health technologies.
National Library of Guidelines
The National Library of Guidelines is a collection of guidelines for the National Health Service. It is based on the guidelines produced by NICE-National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence -and other national agencies. The main focus of the Library is on guidelines produced in the UK, but where no UK guideline is available, guidelines from other countries are included in the collection.
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Systematically developed statements produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial/territorial or regional medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances
Syllabi for practicing EBM
(compiled by Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, U of Toronto)
Gives a quick introduction to Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy and a bibliography of core references on this topic.
Evaluate Web Pages
Tutorial and exercises on Web page evaluation. Produced by Widener University, Wolfram Memorial Library (Chester, PA).

Evidence based practice learning tools

Here are some links to help you understand what Evidence based practice is.

Jama Evidence » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Includes full content from the second edition of Users' Guides to the Medical Literature and Rational and Clinical Examination, as well as education guides, a glossary of EBM terms and definitions, calculators, worksheets, and other tools to aid in understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.

Cochrane Canada
Explore this site and their resources.
Introduction to Evidence-Informed Decision Making
Put out by the National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools.
[+][-]
This tutorial is meant for a public health workers audience, but in our opinion, it is general enough to be of use to all health professions. ML
Knowledge Translation Canada
Other site and resources to explore.
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step
The purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.