Changer
Key Databases
Consult the following databases to find peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, reviews, etc.
Database Search Tips
- LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)Linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
- PsycINFOPsychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Related databases: PubMed, CINAHL and Global Health.
- ComDisDomeFocus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- SCOPUSMultidisciplinary
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary
- Communication SourceMedia studies, communication, linguistics, rhetoric, discourse and speech-language pathology.
- Revues.org (OpenEdition)Multidisciplinary, in French
- MLA International BibliographyStudy and teaching of languages and literatures from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- ProQuestMultidisciplinary
- SpringerLinkMultidisciplinary platform giving access to scholarly journals, books, protocols, reference works, and proceedings.
Scholarly Articles
Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles.
To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (i.e. evaluated by other scholars working in the same field), consult Ulrich's Periodicals Directory, Journal Guide or QOAM (Quality Open Access Market).
See also: Journal Metrics, Journal Finder, and How to Assess a Journal [PDF]
Keeping Up-to-date with Research
- How to Read a Research Paper
-
JournalTOCsScholarly journal tables of contents.
-
OOIR [Observatory of International Research]Latest papers from journals indexed by SSCI.
Open Search Engines and Repositories
- Base (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
- Semantic Scholar [AI-enabled search engine]
- Dimensions
- GoTriple
- Open Knowledge Maps
- Preprint Search
- Google Scholar
- Digital Commons Network
- Core
- OpenAIRE
- MLA's CORE Deposits Directory
- ISIDORE [Huma-Num]
- HAL [archives-ouvertes.fr]
- ScienceOpen
- MyScienceWork
- OpenDOAR [Directory of Open Access Repositories]
- List of OA Disciplinary Repositories
To search for an open access version of any article, use dissem.in, Unpaywall or openaccessbutton.
This research guide by Téa Rokolj is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
