Translation and Interpretation

Several early editions of rare and antiquarian books and translations can be found in our Archives and Special Collections (Morisset, room 039).

The books from this collection can be located via OMNI. 

To locate the books in our collection, start with OMNI:

Simple Search | Advanced Search | How to Use OMNI

You can use WorldCat to search the collections of other libraries and request books via interlibrary loan service.

Go to Advanced Search box

→ Under Resource Type, select Books

→ Enter your keyword(s)

Sort or limit your search results by options on the left-hand side.

If a book is available online, enter your login information.

If a book is not available online, note its location and its call number (starts with a letter).

More information on off-campus access.

The following databases provide electronic access to theses. If the full text is not available, feel free to make an interlibrary loan request.

To find a translated work, consult:

• The Universal Short Title Catalogue

          16th and 17th century European books

• Index Translationum = Répertoire international des traductions = International Bibliography of Translations [1932-1986]

          Call number: PN 886. Z9 I54 [MRT 6th floor]

• Index Translationum [1979-2009]

         You may search by author, title, translator, language, country, publisher etc.

• Translation Database [formerly Three Percent Translation Database]

         Lists of books translated into English and distributed in the US since 2008.

Other useful sources of information include union catalogues and national bibliographies such as:

• WorldCat
• Système universitaire de documentation (SUDOC)
• Catalogue collectif de France
• Library and Archives Canada
• Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
• British Library
• Library of Congress
• Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog
• The European Library
• IFLA's National Bibliographic Register, etc.