Religious Studies

Topics include: Early Christianity, Biblical Studies, Philosophy, Islamic Studies, Classics, Renaissance and Reformation, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Rabiinic Judaism among others.

A collection of handbooks, shorter entry encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford.

An incomparable source of information on the history of the Church: 20 centuries of history, approximately 70,000 articles and sub-articles, two annual updates and many direct links to articles in the "Bibliographie de la Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique."

University of Ottawa has access to a small number of Brill's online publications including Encyclopedia Iranica, New Pauly, and the Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, among others.

Describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history, this work is based on the third, revised edition of the critically acclaimed Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon.

This second edition of the classic work originally undertaken by Mircea Eliade, is the online and fully searchable version. An essential reference source for the study of world religions.

A fully searchable, digital edition of the encyclopedia includes sites from both Israel and Jordan, and covers sites and discoveries relevant to both the New Testament and the Hebrew Bible, as well as excavations from earlier and later periods. Also included are articles on special topics such as Judean Hiding Complexes and Marine Archaeology.

examines the cultural, historical, and societal frameworks of death, such as the universal fear of death, spirituality and various religions, the legal definition of death, suicide, and capital punishment. Also covers such topics as rites and ceremonies, grief and bereavement, and legal matters after death.

The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.