Scholars Geoportal
Scholars GeoPortal is a search and discovery tool for extracting geospatial data. Ontario University students, faculty, and researchers can easily search, discover, map, share, and download geospatial data. Scholars GeoPortal contains geospatial data that is licensed to Ontario universities. This includes land-based data such as water, roads, boundaries, points of interest, soils, aerial imagery, census geography and much more. uOttawa members must log-in to the Geoportal to access all of the datasets.
Vector data
Most of the following layers below can be found in Scholars Geoportal. Keep in mind that this is a small selection of what's available in Scholars GeoPortal.
- LIO Thematic Data byPublication Date: 2013 - 2016This product consists of data layers extracted from the Land Information Ontario (LIO) Warehouse for various time periods. The data includes information on roads, railways, trails, lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands, elevation, official names and boundaries, management and classification information.
If you do not find the layer(s) you need on Scholars Geoportal, please contact us. - Ontario Basic Mapping byPublication Date: 2008This data set is an index identifying Ontario Base Map (OBM) map tiles and digital vector data available for each tile. The data and maps cover most of Ontario and contain many features normally found on topographic maps such as relief, hydrography, vegetation and roads.Eastern and Southern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:10,000 and Northern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:20,000
- OGS Earth byOGSEarth provides geoscience data, collected by the Mines and Minerals division, which can be viewed using user-friendly geographic information programs such as Google Earth. Includes quaternary geology, bedrock geology and surficial geology to name a few.
- GeologyOntario byGeologyOntario provides access to all Ontario Geological Survey maps, reports and digital datasets. Other data is also available, including: client-submitted assessment files, mineral deposits, rock sample lithogeochemical analysis, drill hole records, mining hazards including abandoned mines.
- Soil Survey Complex byThe Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs & Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, in cooperation with the Ministry of Natural Resources, are compiling a high quality, detailed, geo-spatial soils database for Southern Ontario. This new database consolidates the existing digital soil data mapped on a county basis onto a digitally stitched and standardized product.
- Maps and GIS of the Great Lakes Region byA suite of open source tools and applications intended to aggregate and disseminate geospatial data sets for the Great Lakes region.
- Ownership Parcels for Ontario byPublication Date: 2005 - 2015Ownership boundaries and property identification numbers (PINs) for properties within the province of Ontario.
Contact us to request the data for a county..
Raster Data
Below are a selection of Raster Data that are available in Scholars Geoportal.
Aerial Images:
- Eastern Ontario Orthophotos (DRAPE) byPublication Date: 2014, 2008-2009Digital Raster Acquisition Project Eastern Ontario (DRAPE) is imagery that was collected through collaborative funding partnerships for 2008 and 2014.
- South-Western Ontario Orthophotos (SWOOP) byPublication Date: 2015, 2010, 2006The Southwestern Ontario Orthophotography Project includes 20 cm resolution imagery for an area approximately 42,000 to 49,000 square kilometers in size for Southwestern Ontario. Data are available for 2006, 2010, and 2015.
- South-Central Ontario Orthophotos (SCOOP) byPublication Date: 2013SCOOP digital imagery encompassed an area of approximately 35,762 square kilometers, covering parts of South Central Ontario including Peterborough, Haliburton, Muskoka, Simcoe and surrounding areas.
Digital Elevation Models (DEM):
- Digital Elevation Model (DEM) - Version 3.0 byPublication Date: 2013The Provincial DEM is designed to represent true ground elevation across the Province of Ontario and is a general purpose dataset from which other special purpose datasets have been derived.
- Digital Elevation Model (DEM) - Ontario Areas byPublication Date: Years varyDigital Elevation Models (DEM) of Eastern Ontario, Central Ontario, South-Central Ontario and South-Western Ontario. Resolution of products varies for each year.
Contact us to request the data..
Other:
- Ontario Lidar / Point Cloud Data byPublication Date: VariesLidar data of Eastern Ontario, Central Ontario, South-Central Ontario and South-Western Ontario. Resolution of products varies for each year.
Contact us to request the data.. - Provincial Landcover 2000 byPublication Date: 1999-2002The Ontario Land Cover Data Base, Second Edition (2000) provides a classification of 27 broad land cover types north of the southern boundary of the Canadian Shield, within the province of Ontario.