Canada - Geospatial Data - Guides de recherche · Research guides at University of Ottawa

Canada Open Data

Government of Canada Open Data portal, which includes data from various government departments. Some data of interest:

Municipal open can be found from the Municipal Open Data Portals in Canada

Geospatial Data Extraction

Geogratis Download Directory

Geogratis Download Directory (New)

Quickly access data from Natural Resources Canada (NRCan's) Geogratis program. Includes the following datasets:

CanVec Series, CanMatrix, CanTopo & CanImage
Landsat 7 Imagery
Candian Digital Elevation Model
Geobase Series (National Road Network, National Hydro Network, Satellite Imagery, etc.)

Vector Data

Some popular datasets such as data from DMTI Spatial Inc, Statistics Canada are available to uOttawa students, faculty and researchers on Scholars Geoportal. You must log-in to the Portal to download the data.

CanMap Content Suite by DMTI Spatial Inc.
CanMap Content Suite contains over 100 unique and rich content layers. Each layer has a unique file and layer name with associated definitions, descriptions, attribution and metadata. All layers, with a few exceptions, are vector data consisting of polygon, polyline, or point geometry representation.
Enhanced Points of Interest (EPOI) by DMTI Spatial
Publication Date: 2015
National database of over 1.6 million Canadian business, landmark and recreational destinations in Canada.
Cartographic Boundary Files by Statistics Canada
Cartographic Boundary Files are layers containing the boundaries of standard statistical areas.They are used to map Census of Population data, and can also be used with Census of Agriculture, National Household Survey, or other Statistics Canada data.
Health region boundary files by Statistics Canada
This site provides access to downloadable files for the health boundaries in Canada in a variety of formats.
Canadian Wind Energy Atlas by Environment Canada
The Canadian Wind Energy Atlas web site makes it possible to download the data files that were obtained from simulations on the Canadian territory.
Historical Climate Data by Environment Canada
Hourly, daily, and monthly climate data for weather stations across Canada.
National Earthquake Database (NEDB) by Natural Resources Canada
Comprises a number of separate databases that together act as the national repository for all raw seismograph data, measurements, and derived parameters arising from the Canadian National Seismograph Network (CNSN), the Yellowknife Seismological Array (YKA), previous regional telemetered networks in eastern and western Canada (ECTN, WCTN), local telemetered networks (CLTN, SLTN), the Regional Analogue Network, and the former Standard Seismograph Network (CSN).
The Nature Audit by World Wildlife Fund Canada
Datasets include Conservation Planning Regions, GIS data/shapefiles, and a Cumulative Human Footprint & Pre-European Habitat Database.
Database of the Geologic Map of North America by Geological Society of America
The Geological Society of America’s (GSA) Geologic Map of North America shows the geology of a significantly large area of the Earth, centered on North and Central America and including the submarine geology of parts of the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. This map is now converted to a Geographic Information System (GIS) database that contains all geologic and base-map information shown on the two printed map sheets and the accompanying explanation sheet.

Raster Data

Clutter data and DEMs by DMTI Spatial
Publication Date: 2003
Clutter data is classified (10 classes) as the man-made and natural features that may impair radio frequency propagation by reflection, diffraction, absorption or scattering of transmission waves.

Digital Elevation Model (DEM) 30m and 90m coverage is available for the whole country, by NTS sheet (1:50,000 or 1:250,000) or custom defined areas such as along the Canadian/US Border or by Province.