Mobile Apps for Health Sciences

Multidisciplinary

You have the full access to these apps for free because the University of Ottawa has a subscription to these resources.  If you have any questions or need help to install any of these apps on your device, do not hesitate to contact us. 

Cover art

Read by QxMd  Apple logoAndroid logo

Read is a new mobile application enabling fast and seamless access to medical and scientific literature. 

Instruction:

  • Download the Read mobile apps on your device. 
  • Create a new account or sign in if you already have one.
  • In your "account settings", go to "Institutional Access".
  • Choose "University of Ottawa" as your institution.
  • Select "Automatic Login Using uOttawa email address" as your login preference and enter your library username (beginning of your uottawa.ca email) and password.  If you don't know your username and/or password, please contact IT at 613-562-5800 ext. 6555.
decoration

STAT!REFApple logoAndroid logo

An electronic medical library which allows searching from selected major medical and drug reference text books.

Instructions:

You will need to create a username/ password.  For more information click here.

decoration

EBSCOhostApple logoAndroid logo
(includes databases such as: Cinahl, Ageline,  SPORTDiscus, etc.)

Search and download articles from EBSCOhost databases. E-books are currently through this app. 

Instructions:

Go to any Ebsco database and scroll to the bottom of the page, Click on "iPhone and Android apps", enter your email address, download the app on your mobile and view the email that you received drom EBSCOhost on your mobile and tap the authentification key.

Cover art

The Cochrane LibraryApple logoAndroid logo

The Cochrane Library App presents the latest up-to-date evidence from the Cochrane Library in a convenient, easy to navigate format which provides you with relevant, accessible research, when you need it, from the world’s leading experts in evidence-informed health care.

decoration

Cell Press Apple logoAndroid logo

Stay up-to-date with developments in your field with the latest issues from 30 Cell Press journals on your device.

Instructions:

You will need to create an account in ScienceDirect (if you don't already have one) to connect to Cell Press.

Multidisciplinary - Other Resources

Image result for medibabble

Medibabble Apple logo

Price: FREE

Welcome to MediBabble, a free, professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers. MediBabble is a history-taking and physical exam application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and quality of care for non-English speaking patients.

MedPulse

Medscape MedPulse Apple logoAndroid logo

Price: FREE

Medscape MedPulse is the only medical news app you’ll ever need. Stay informed on the latest medical news with award-winning journalism and expert perspectives written specifically for physicians, medical students and healthcare professionals.

Bluefire

Bluefire Reader Apple logo

Price: FREE

Bluefire Reader is the best way to read Adobe® Content Server protected eBooks on your  phone or tablet. With Bluefire Reader you can read EPUB and PDF books from retailers, publishers and libraries around the world.

Cover art

Adobe Digital EditionsApple logoAndroid logo

Price: FREE

Adobe Digital Edition (ADE) is free-to-download and use, and completely ad-free. Use it to read EPUB and PDF books, both online and offline.

decoration

Taber's Medical DictionaryApple logoAndroid logo

Price: FREE * 

Taber’s Medical Dictionary now contains over 65,000 terms, 1,200 images, and 120 videos, making it the most current and comprehensive health science dictionary used by healthcare professionals

*In-App Purchases

Please note that prices may vary at any time.   

Changer