Music

Welcome to our Music Research Guide

      The purpose of this music library guide is to help you to identify online and print resources available at University of Ottawa Library and on the web. From here, you will be able to find links to the key music and multidisciplinary databases, journals, and reference books, as well as links to resources on how to do research and write papers.

     Discover the myriad of music resources awaiting you in books, journals, streaming audio databases, CDs, DVDs, facsimiles, microforms, printed music, multidisciplinary databases, and digital collections located throughout the University's libraries and online.

 

Specialized reference assistance is available to music students, faculty and other visitors.

Visit the Isobel Firestone Music Library

Location; #302 Pavillon Pérez -- Perez Hall, 50 Université / University 

  • Study carrels are equipped with the latest audiovisual technology (such as iMacs, electronic keyboards and Finale composition software). Electrical outlets are available throughout the library.
  • Two group study rooms, equipped with data ports, power outlets and wall-mounted monitors, are available. To book online, choose PRZ 302B (capacity: 3-7) or PRZ 302C (capacity: 3-5)
  • The 33 seats multipurpose seminar room is equipped with a piano and with state-of-the-art audiovisual technology.
  • A dedicated graduate reading room with 16 assigned study carrels offers natural light and beautiful view on the campus.

The music collection consists of an extensive collection of printed music, audiovisual materials, sound recordings, books and reference works.

All print collections (scores, books) are located on the 4th floor, Morisset Library (in the M section). CDs, choral, orchestra and band music and music reserve materials are located at the main Service Desk (1st floor), Morisset Library.  

We invite the University Community to visit and make use of of one of the foremost music collections in the National Capital region.

Contact me / Coordonnées

Catherine Lachaîne's picture
Catherine Lachaîne
Contact:
Musicothèque/Music Library
PRZ Room/ pièce 302
613 562 5800 ext 3638

I recommend...