Changer
Subject specific
- Research guides by subjectFor subject specific databases please visit the relevant research guides related to the field of interest.
Databases with French content
Here is an informal list of sources where you will find French content:
- Erudit Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowRevues scientifiques du Québec.
- Eureka.cc Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMaximum d'usagers simultanés: 25. Information sur l'actualité et les affaires provenant de sources canadiennes et européennes en français, et de sources ontariennes en anglais.
- Persée Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowRevues scientifiques en texte intégral français dans le domaine des humanités et des sciences sociales
- OpenEdition Journals (fédération de revues en Sciences humaines et sociales) Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowUne collection de 80 revues électroniques dans la langue française couvrant les domaines de sciences sociales et humaines. Collection rétrospective, résumés et textes intégrale de plusieurs revues françaises.
What is "peer-review"?
A "peer reviewed" article (also called a "scholarly" or "academic" journal article) is an article that has been reviewed by other scholars (peers) working in the same field.
Not all journal articles are peer reviewed. Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles.
General/multidisciplinary databases
- Scholars Portal Journals Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database gives you access to full text articles of more than 7000 academic journals.
- JSTOR Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database giving archival access to scholarly journals within the following areas: arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences.
- Project MuseHumanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
- SCOPUS Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowDatabase for scientific, technical and medical information.
- Web of Science Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new windowKey research journals in Science, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
- ProQuest databasesSearch over 40 different databases on the ProQuest platform. You can focus your searches by limiting them to specific databases or subjects.
Check whether a journal is peer-reviewed
The database Ulrich's Periodical Directory can be used to check if a journal is peer-reviewed. Type the journal name into the search box. Click on the title in the list of results. If the category Refereed - Yes appears, it is a peer-reviewed journal.
Letters to the editor, comments and editorials are not peer-reviewed.
Abbreviations of periodical titles
- JAbbrDecipher your journal abbreviations @ Cornell University
