Government Information

Government Information Search Engine

Use this search engine to locate federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal government information in one click. (Special thanks to David Sharp, Carleton University.)

 

 

Reference Books in Our Collection

Canadian Parliamentary Handbook Call number: MRT Ref JL 131 .B44

How Canadians Govern Themselves

How Parliament Works Call number: MRT Ref  JL 136 .B427 2010

Making Policy: A Guide to the Federal Government's Policy Process Call number: MRT Ref   JL 86 .P64 M55 2013

Scott's Government Index Call number: MRT Ref JL 73 .C77

Databases and Catalogues

Government of Canada Publications
Catalogue of federal publications distributed via Depository Services Program. Search by subject, title, author, department/agency, catalogue number, ISBN, ISSN etc.

Canadian Research Index [Microlog]
Index of publications from federal, provincial and municipal governments of Canada. Full-text is available on microfiche via the Media Centre.

Canadian Government Publications in the Internet Archive 
This collection includes federal and provincial publications.

Government of Canada Web Archive 
Snapshots of Canadian government websites. Search by keyword, department or URL. [Try also the WayBack Machine.]

Canadian Public Documents Collection
This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centers and other public interest groups.

Open Parliament
Non-government website that allows users to search parliamentary debates in a user-friendly interface [searches debate from 1994-present]. 

Library of Parliament Research Publications 
Full-text of research and analysis reports on Canada's social, economic, legal and scientific issues.

Héritage
The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 40 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.

GALLOP Portal (Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal)
Access to the government publications and select legislative materials found in Canadian legislative and parliamentary libraries. 

The Early Debates of Parliament 
These reconstituted records offer a unique view of our parliamentary history. Debates for 1867 to 1872 of this ongoing project are made available here to all Canadians. [More recent debates are available online (House of Commons / Senate) and in print.]

Parliament of Canada
Website of the Parliament of Canada. Provides access to debates in the House of Commons and the Senate, as well as biographical information about Members of Parliament and Senators. 

Royal Commissions 
Access Royal Commission / Commissions of Inquiry online by topic or commissioner.

Statements, speeches and communiqués 
A collection of digitized documents (1946-1995) from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Statistics Canada's Analytical Studies 
Full-text of papers on Canada's social, commercial, financial and economic situation. Search by keyword, subject, date or author.

Early Canadiana Online 
Digital library providing access to 2,838,778 pages of Canada's printed heritage. Included in its collection are government documents dating from early colonial times to 1900.

ArchiviaNet: Government of Canada Files 
This database lists federal government records held by the Library and Archives Canada. It contains about 1,2 million descriptions of files created by departments and agencies of the Federal Government of Canada, including over 50,000 digital images.

Amicus 
National catalogue that lists holdings of the Library and Archives Canada as well as over 1300 libraries across Canada. To locate a specific library catalogue, consult Canadian Library Gateway.

Open Data

Government of Canada open data portal
Click here to see a list of Canada’s provincial and municipal Open Data sites that release freely available open data in Canada.

Province of Ontario open data portal

City of Ottawa open data portal

 

Inventory of Government of Canada Organizations

Political Party Platforms