Geographic and Environmental data - Data and Statistics - Guides de recherche

Geospatial Data at UO

Geospatial Data
We have numerous datasets available from the city of Ottawa, the National Capital Commission, and from the province of Ontario, available at difference scales. We also have several national and international datasets.
Scholars GeoPortal
Scholars GeoPortal, a new geospatial data discovery tool offers search, preview, and download functionality for a growing selection of geospatial datasets licensed by Ontario university libraries, covering such topics as land use, transportation networks, census boundaries, points of interest (such as schools, airports, and golf courses), imagery, and more.

Related guides

GIS Projects

Tips to start your GIS project

Weather

International data sources

Climate Data Online (CDO) (NOAA)
Climate Data Online (CDO) is the web access application for the National Climatic Data Center's (NCDC) archive of weather and climate data.

UNdata Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Fournit des données statistiques internationales complètes sur tous les pays et toutes les régions. Comprend plus de 300 séries chronologiques, parmi lesquelles plusieurs sont désagrégées pour montrer la répartition. L'information provient de nombreuses sources internationales.

UNEP Environmental Data Explorer
This online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.

National data sources

Canadian Disaster Database
Historical information on disasters affecting Canadians over the past century.
Community Information Database (CID)
The Community Information Database (CID) is a free internet-based resource developed to provide communities, researchers, and governments with access to consistent and reliable socio-economic and demographic data and information for all communities across Canada.
Drought Watch (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
Drought Watch provides timely information (maps) of the impacts of climatic variability on water supply and agriculture.
GeoConnections Discovery Portal
This site is a gateway to millions of geospatial data products, including a search tool to discover geospatial data (maps, satellite images, publications and other geospatial data), organizations, and geospatial-related services.
National Air Pollution Surveillance Program (NAPS) - Environment Canada
The National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) Network is a cooperative program of the federal, provincial, territorial and some regional governments providing accurate and long-term air quality data.
National Climate Data and Information Archive
The National Climate Data and Information Archive contains official climate and weather observations for Canada.
National Energy Use Database (NEUD)
NEUD is an initiative to help NRCan improve its knowledge of energy consumption and energy efficiency at the end-use level in Canada. The NEUD's most important role is to secure the development of a reliable, Canada-wide information base on energy consumption for all energy-consuming sectors.
National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI)
Publicly-accessible inventory of pollutants released, disposed of and recycled by facilities in Canada.

ODESI - Data Service of Scholars Portal » Ce lien s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre / This link opens in a new window
Odesi is a Canadian social science data repository and online analysis tool. The service contains over 5,700 datasets curated by university libraries.
Odesi provides open and enhanced access to a variety of data collections such as Statistics Canada’s Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) public use microdata, historical datasets, and Canadian public opinion polls, including the Gallup Canada, IPSOS Canada, and the Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA).
Datasets are curated and described by staff at Canadian academic libraries using the Data Documentation Initiative (DDI) metadata standard.

Water Survey of Canada
The Water Survey of Canada (WSC) is the national authority responsible for the collection, interpretation and dissemination of standardized water resource data and information in Canada. In partnership with the provinces, territories and other agencies, WSC operates over 2500 active hydrometric gauges across the country.

Provincial and local data sources

Air Quality Ontario - Air Quality Data Sets
The Ontario Ministry of the Environment (MOE) has created the user-friendly website Air Quality Ontario in order to provide Ontarians with current Air Quality Index (AQI) readings, historical ambient air pollution data air quality forecasts and current pollutant concentrations, as well as information on actions that can be taken when a smog alert is issued.