Where to find books for your field?
Can't find what you need? Try one of the following options:
- OMNIOmni is an easy-to-use academic search tool that gives you access to high-quality resources from 14 Ontario university libraries.
Sign-in with your uoAccess credentials for full access to content, features, and your library account.
- Carleton University catalogueTo locate material not owned by the library or for items currently out, search the Carleton University catalogue. As a University of Ottawa student, you can borrow from the collections of Carleton and other university libraries.
- Library and Archives CanadaSearch Aurora, Library and Archives Canada's catalogue of its published holdings, including books, newspapers, magazines, maps, music and works in accessible formats.
- Ottawa Public LibraryThe Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is the largest bilingual (English/French) public library system in North America. The OPL extends public access to information and services through the library’s 34 branches, physical and virtual (BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca).
- RacerTo get the item you are looking for, you might have to use the inter-library loan service via Racer. There is no fee for this service.
- WorldCatSearch to see what other institutions around the world might have what you're looking for.
- Google BooksFind books that you can often consult for free.
How to find books with OMNI
Go to OMNI advanced search screen
Under format select Books from the drop-down menu
Type keywords that describe your topic (e.g. "Multiculturalism"). You can also type the author name or the year (e.g. Will Kymlicka)
Determine the book's availability and location
In the example below, the availability is shown in the green box
- The book's location is shown in the red box below
- If you see Available Online, click on the link to access the book.
- For books that are in a library such as Morisset: use the call number (underlined in red) to locate the book on the shelves.
Purchase Suggestions
If you would like to suggest a title for purchase, send me an e-mail at mguzmang@uottawa.ca
Reading suggestions
The SAGE handbook of political science by ISBN: 9781529714333Publication Date: 2020The SAGE Handbook of Political Science presents a major retrospective and prospective overview of the discipline. Comprising three volumes of contributions from expert authors from around the world, the handbook aims to frame, assess and synthesize research in the field, helping to define and identify its current and future developments.
The Oxford Handbook of the Canadian Constitution (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780190664817Publication Date: 2017-09-07The Oxford Handbook of the Canadian Constitution provides an ideal first stop for Canadians and non-Canadians seeking a clear, concise, and authoritative account of Canadian constitutional law.
Relevant e-book collections
The following online book collections provide numerous titles relevant to Political Studies:
- IDRC Publications
- OECD iLibrary
- World Bank eLibrary
- Cambridge University Press
- EBSCOhost eBook collection
The Library also has access to the Canadian Public Policy Collection:
- Download a spreasheet (.xlsx) to view content from this collection
- Search a title found in the spreadsheet in the library catalogue and access it online
